The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

The difference between love and everything else?

2001-01-17 - 05:58:26


Okay, I've bitched about this topic a million times, but since I was talking with Dawn (YES, I do know a girl, thank you very much) about it, I figured I"d just lay into yet another bitch session about the dreaded L word.

*chuckles*

Yes, so, today's topic is all about LOVE.



Tune in, folks. Gather round. Listen to your old Auntie-Jenn. And if you repeat that name to anyone... you die.

Anyway, continuing. *winks*

Love at first sight does not exist.

Let me repeat that for those who weren't paying attention.

LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT DOES NOT EXIST!!!



Now, let's analyze this statement.

What do I really mean by that?

I mean, love at first sight does not exist. There isn't any such thing. Wipe your nose, dry your eyes and move on. Get over it.



All those of you who are snivling and whining about how I could posibly be so damned cold as to say love doesn't exist... I didn't say that.

I said love at first sight does not exist.

Therefore, what have we learned today? We have learned that in Jennifer's sweet little alternate reality, there is NO SUCH THING AS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gah, how many more times do I have to say this?



Perhaps I should post the conversation, in part, that Dawn and I have been having. That way you'd know the context. Or rather, you probably wouldn't know the context, but it would take up some space, so I'm gonna do it anyway. *winks*

You know you love me.




catherine_steele_macdougal: *smiles wryly* Do you really think that you get to 'allow' love to happen?

burnttiger: *nods* Yes

burnttiger: "love" is a choice.

burnttiger: True and real and honest love is a choice. It is something that developes over years. Not something that happens instantly.

burnttiger: *shrugs* Of course, Russell doesn't believe that, and obviously, neither do you {most people don't agree with me}

burnttiger: *chuckles*

catherine_steele_macdougal: Really? I don't. You can choose whether or not to pursue it.

burnttiger: *shrugs*

catherine_steele_macdougal: *grinzzz* Nope, apparently not. LOL

burnttiger: Lust 'happens'. Desire 'happens'. Love is a choice.

catherine_steele_macdougal: No love at first sight for you then. *giggles*

burnttiger: *shakes her head* There's no such thing as love at first sight.

burnttiger: Love at first sight is actually a combination of lust, desire and infatuation.

catherine_steele_macdougal: *smiles wryly* Maybe then I've never met love....?

burnttiger: It's not love.

burnttiger: That wouldn't surprise me.

catherine_steele_macdougal: Have you?

burnttiger: Not many people actually find real love.

burnttiger: *shakes her head*

burnttiger: Nope

catherine_steele_macdougal: Does Friendship at first sight happen?

burnttiger: *nods* Yes

burnttiger: There are some people that you just "click" with.



So, that was my opinion. And hers. Now, I've stated this many, many, many, many times before.

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So... Does that get the point across?

Love is a choice. It is not something that "happens". However, most people don't agree with that. Hell, most people would smack me around head to toe for stating that so emphatically.

But, here we are and I'm feelin feisty.

So,

BITE ME, DOUGH BOY!!!

Or something.

Most people mis-identify/mis-interpret love. Love is not some happy, happy, joy, joy thing. Love is not some stupid, assinine monolithic fairy tale event that settles over you like magic.

All those things do happen, but they are not love.

The thing so many people call "love at first sight" is actually a combination of lust, desire, hunger, need and infatuation/attraction. None of those things are love. None.

However. love can envelope them.

So, just because I'm now getting a little tired and want to wrap this up (but knowing me, I'll get going on some other tangent) let me tell you... love at first sight does not exist. Lust, desire, need, hunger, craving even... those things happen at first sight.

Those things are a reaction to a stimulus. Love is NOT a reaction. Love is an action.

And THAT is the difference.





Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own