The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Belief

2001-02-04 - 01:06:40


Ever had one of those days when everyone seems to challenge the same thing with you?

Today was my day to be challeneged. I started with a subtle temptation... three of those... it was like three chances to make the right choice.. I am of the opinion that had I not made the right choice the third time, I would have been presented with the same scenario again. And again. And again.

Then, I was discussing my plans to attend a teological school to earn my bachelor's master's and doctorate degrees in some form of spiritual study, with Charles. He challenged my intentions, my reasons, and that really threw me.

Finally, I was talking with my mother and she outright told me I was wrong. That was like, well, I felt like I was trumped yet again.

And Mom's refuting comments were simply an underscoring of Charles' points. Just for slight clarification purposes, Charles was not antagonistic or non-supportive. In fact, he was more supportive of the end product. Regardless, his comments, the main point was that I should not limit my education simply because I didn't want to hear about a specific topic, were well thought out and concise.

The discussion example I used was taking a course in demonology... ie: advocating demonology.

My point - I don't agree with demonology, thus don't want to hear about it/learn how to do it.

Charles' point - How can I argue [teach] against demonology without knowing how they believe/what they believe and what their arguments are?

Charles is right. His added point... if someone is a demonologist, how can I argue my points from my perspective and expect to win? They don't share my perspective so my arguments would be wasted breath.

Just because I believe something doesn't mean I can express my belief in terms others will understand.

This point should be evident in all the times I've ticked people off by simply stating my opinion and using words which were interpreted to mean something other than I intended.



These points give me reason to pause and rethink many "given"s in my life. How can I profess to believe something I can't prove? How can I tell someone what I believe if I can't state WHY I believe it? How could I possibly expect someone to share/agree with my belief if I can't give a why for said belief? How can I expect anyone else to respect that I believe what I say I do if I can't give some background proof for why I believe?

Simply using "feelings" or intuition is not enough. I have to know the background. Building a foundation alone is not enough proof. It's not enough substance. I also have to purchase/acquire the materials and build the house which will rest upon said foundation.

Another way of saying that is in a single word: Followthrough.



I must know what I believe. I must be able to argue and proove what I believe from both my perspective and my opposition's perspective. I must know my opposition's perspective in order to argue my points in their language.





A more clear and concise way to explain that is this... If I am going to argue my points with someone whose native languages is different than mine, I need to know how to speak their languages. I can speak myself hoarse in English, but if they person I'm speaking with/to speaks Italian they will not understand what I'm saying.

Your points are valid, correct and well spoken, Charles. Thank you.




Therefore, the point of this entry... the moral or morsle I would like you to take away with you, is this:

Know what you believe. Figure it out and understand it inside and out. Understand the why of what you believe from your perspective. But, also know your beliefs from the opposing perspectives. Be able to prove your points in other languages too.

If you can't, then you'd better either learn how, or change/rethink your beliefs.

This has given me much to think about.

Thank you, Charles.






Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own