The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

A day with the Nephew...

2001-05-18 - 10:20 p.m.


I am SOOOOOOOO tired.

I just spent the past hour and a half, working up a post for the RP story board. Or rather, a five-part post. *chuckles*

Verbosity is my middle name.

Okay, so it's not... so sue me.




Anyway, my fingers are tired, my mind is tired, my brain has just shut down, or so it seems.

I think I'm actually going to have one last smoke, then go to sleep. I'm fighting off this damned cold and it's drivin me nuts.



Watched Damien today. He was fine and all until his Mom got here to pick him up. I was exhausted and trying to take a nap. But, Damien decided to pitch a shit fit because Mommy wasn't paying attention to him. SO, he was outside, semi-under my window, and screaming bloody murder.

so, I went downstairs, outside and told him that if he didn't calm down, he was going on a time out from which he couldn't move a single muscle.

Oh, I would have made some more grand pissed-off threat, but I was outside and he isn't my kid. Instead of getting pissed as all hell and just layin into him, I told him that he shouldn't yell and scream like that.

That I had been sleeping and he had awakened me. That if his sister was being mean, it was his responsibility to ask her politely to open the door for him (long story, not going into it) and if she didn't respond, then he was to go tell his mother, politely, that his sister was being mean. That THAT was the way to solve the problem.

He is so very much like his mother. But then, he's like his father too. It amazes me how very similar he is to both of them. I mean, Brandace has some of her mother's traits, but she is blatantly obviously her daddy's girl.



Anyway... There are a bunch of things I noticed about myself throughout my "tirade" at my Nephew... I'm not going to get into the personalized lessons, but I was very proud of myself that I didn't simply tell him to quit being an asshole. *smirks*

That, of course, was my desire. But, instead, I told him HOW to solve the problem. tHat the way he was doing it, just wasn't going to work, it was rude, and it showed that he had no respect at all.

He had been screaming bloody murder and was banging on the car, kicking it, etc.



Because I'm tired and have little desire to censor myself, I'm going to bitch about his mother a little bit.

She was inside, talking with Mom and completely ignored the screaming of her son. Completely ignored it.

And that has been a long-term problem. She doesn't do anything about it unless his behavior directly effects her or irritates her.

I suppose that's the way most of us are on a day to day basis... no need to request that other people change if their not infringing on our comfort zone...

But still... it bugs me that she doesn't discipline her children unless they are directly bothering her. She'll let them scream and rant and rave. She'll let them rage. As long as it doesn't bother her.

*shakes her head*

That's definately not the way I was raised.

Of course, I was the child that could be (and still can be) silenced with a simple look. Hell, it doesn't even take a look. Just the impression that my comments/attitudes aren't needed is enough to keep me quiet. *chuckles*

Just ask Charles. *smirks*



Anyway... I'm gonna jet out. I'm exhausted and I have to be up early yet again tomorrow. Only this time, it's for something I want to do rather than having the neighbor decide to run the tractor at 7 in the morning.

If it were just the guy running his equipment, it wouldn't bother me. But Joey hears it, and has to defend his territory. he has to protect me. So he barks. Loudly. And often.

Until I get up out of bed and get moving.

*le sigh*

So, I'm out of here.

Night folks.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own