The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Memories and Gardenias

2001-07-08 - 8:51 a.m.


Just a brief comment this morning, I'll be posting a more indepth entry later. But for this morning, go read CrankyDragon's Gardenia entry.

She made me think about my Grandfather.

I remember being at his funeral, sitting there nine years ago, seeing the people come and go. I remember watching him, thinking he was only sleeping and that if I called loud enough he would wake up, get out of that box and smile at me. I remember thinking that he would just get up, take my hand and walk down the center aisle of the funeral home. I remember thinking that he might well just get up and be there to love me again.

I can see it all so clearly.

I sang Wind Beneath My Wings at that funeral.

To this day, every time I hear that song, I think of him. Sometimes I wish I could fly, just so I could feel the love that he gave without question, without expectation, without requiring me to do anything more than breathe.

I miss him.

Maybe that's why I like standing in the wind so much. Because I can feel him in it. I can feel that touch-without-touching.

Like the smell of a sweet Gardenia.

Thank you, C. D.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own