The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Cities and Avacadoes in the elevator to hell

2001-07-26 - 9:43 a.m.


I'm here, and happy. Of course, it could just be the fact that I've had about seven hours of sleep in the past three days, but I think I just like having the freedom of being completely alone without being lonely. *chuckles*

Okay, so I'm not completely alone. I have the two pups to keep me company. And a fish. I'm not sure what kind of fish it is, it's either a guppy or a tetra. Dunno. It doesn't matter anyway.

The Aunt and Uncle left on their great vacation yesterday morning. yesterday was a good day too, but I feel like I'm settling in a little more today.

I don't have that much longer to play online. I really need to get some serious work on my book done. I want to have another 20 pages done by this evening.



I'm having a little conversation with Charles at the moment. We're discussing employment options in this specific area. Well, okay, more accurately I'm stating my reasons to refuse getting a high-paying 911 dispatch job in Seattle.

He is giving me pointers on how to overcome my own psychological hatred of living in the city and I'm refusing to listen. *chuckles* Or close.

My point is this... I don't do well in cities. Not specifically because of the city, but because I hate cities. And a 14-18 dollar an hour job is NOT reason enough for me to break out of my nice, gentle, quiet, small town (and the ocean) for the busy, angry, noisy, bustling city.

Despite the fact that I don't, as yet, have the physical stamina or strength to work a part time shift, let alone a full time shift, my greatest concern with the whole "employment in Seattle" kick is that I would have to be in... well... Seattle.

*shudders*

I've already done my time in Seattle.

But, Charles was trying to tell me that my own refusal to live in Seattle was a psychological thing and I should employ a plan to get over it.

Uh uh.

So, I was reminded of my Father, who just last week, made some comment about my continuing and abject refusal to eat or have anything at all to do with Avacadoes. He asked me, in that familial challenging voice of his, when the last time I'd tried Avacadoes was.

*shudders at the memory*

I last tried them last year. I've tried Avacadoes and gua-yucky-camole every few years to see if perhaps, by my parents' suggestion, my tastes have changed.

They haven't.

I don't like Avacadoes. I don't like fish.

Fish I can deal with sometimes. I don't like it, but it's not the kind of thing where I will never eat it cause it's the devil spawn. *smirks* Avacadoes on the other hand... they make me wretch.

If there were nothing else to eat and I were on the verge of starvation, having had no food OR water for a long while, I think I might, maybe, possibly have an Avacado. But I very, very highly doubt it.

Anyway... I've tried Avacadoes. I don't like them. Don't offer them to me, don't tell me I have to eat them. Don't try to force me into eating them. I don't like them, Sam-I-Am. I will not eat them in a box, I will not eat them with a fox.

Likewise, I do not like the city. Whether it is psychological or not, I do not like the city. And, I have no desire, whatsoever, to change that. I don't WANT to like the city. Cities are okay for occassional jaunts. I can visit someone in a city, I can even stay for a few days. Sometimes I could be persuaded to stay for a month.

I don't like them, however. And I don't have any intentions of moving away from the ocean. Ever.

Of course, if I get married and my husband needs to live in the city in order to work, then I would have to live there too, but you can bet your ass that we wouldn't live IN the city. No way, uh uh. Ucky.

I like my ocean. I want to live there.

So there.

*smirks*

Anyway, peace unto thy hearts, friends. I have to go work on my book now.

Toodles



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own