The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Irritations

Saturday, Sept. 01, 2001 - 9:20 am


You know what really irks me?

I highly recommended D-land chat cause I've had some very good experiences in there over the past week. However, a treasured friend of mine took me up on that recommendation and was treated poorly.

*shakes her head* This irritates me.

I don't think that poor treatment was really intended, but I'm not sure. Therefore, I'm sending out this public service announcement.

===of course, I don't think those who read this specific diary are the "kind" that would be rude and offensive toward someone just because they don't know that someone, I'm bitching anyway.===

Let me give you a little rant here...

When you are in Diaryland chat, you are a representative of Diaryland. You are not JUST yourself, you take on the mantle of "part of the Dland community". Therefore, your actions and comments are looked at from a different point of view.

Were you sitting on a street corner with your friends, bitching about the different people that pass that street, then your actions and comments would be responded to accordingly. When you're in D-land chat, however, you have a different location. This different location indicates some life-education (common sense) and maturity. If you do not comport yourself with maturity and common sense then you bely the standards of Diaryland.

I'm not saying that one can't be young or have fun in D-land chat. However, I think that those who are younger than I (by about 8 years or so) don't understand that some of the words they use in every-day conversation are highly offensive to many people of greater life-experience.

What that paragraph of seeming double talk means is this...

For most people of my aproximate generation and up, certain words and phrases are automatically offensive. Calling someone a whore just as soon as they enter a room, without saying anything, is considered rude, offensive and mean-spirited, regardless as to how it was intended.

I'm not telling people to stop using words they use in daily conversations. I am, however, cautioning against using such words and phrases in regard to people you know nothing about or have never interacted with before. Though many people in the Diaryland community often use the word "whore" in their conversations, I haven't seen too many of them refering to someone outside the loop.

I've witnessed many different people talking about being "hitwhores" and such. I personally am offended by the word "whore" I don't call anyone a whore unless I mean it as an insult.

*sighs*

Let me try this a different way.

For those of you who aren't familiar with this concept, the word "whore" is highly offensive for the majority of people over the age of 25. It is a derogitory term which many people reserve for those instances when one has truly shown despicable character/traits/behavior.

I know that the Diaryland community is comprised largely of younger people, those under 25, but most of those I've encountered have a greater level of maturity than even I did when I was their age. This bodes well in my opinion.



Okay, so the bottom line, since I've been rambling a little too much.

I highly recommended D-land chat to a friend I hold above most others in this world. This friend was insulted and offended before uttering a single word. This friend entered D-land chat strictly because I recommended it. Thus, my recommendation became useless and a lie.

I don't like that.

Please, when you see someone new enter Dland chat, put your insults, whether intended or not, on hold for a few minutes until you find out if that person is either deserving insult or able to play along with whatever game you're involved in.

have a little common courtesy, please. I don't like it when my friends are slighted because they have tried something I recommend.



That is all for this morning. Thank you for listening.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own