The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

My Neice Is Perfect!

Thursday, Feb. 21, 2002 - 9:15 pm


I went to my niece's last basketball game of the season tonight. She's 11. She made the first basket of the game. (At least, I think she did. I don't care if it's not true, that's the way I remember it!) She was really good and was responsible for at least five steals and made about 5 points for the team. (two baskets and a team foul basket)

She fouled twice, but the first time didn't really count in my book, cause her shoe was only one inch over the half court line. The second foul was in the last two minutes of the last quarter of the game and it doesn't count either cause the other girl ran into her. honest. I promise.

Well, okay, so maybe I'm not really all that objective when it comes to my neice, but I don't care. She's MY neice.

She played an awesome game and I'm so very, very proud of her. Of course, it did take me back about 20 years as I remembered my brother doing all the same things. He would run and run and run and grab the ball. He would dart out of nowhere and just... be there.

*grins*

She was marvelous and I'm so very glad I got to watch her. I do, however, want more comfortable bleechers next time. Those skinny, wood/wood-wannabe seats are so absolutely funky-ass nasty.

Anyway... She was fantastic.

After the game I called her to me and gave her a biiiiiiiiig hug. I told her that she was incredible and fantastic and she had done a marvelous job. And she smiled.

Then, I told her quietly, "You're just like your father." And she grinned big, hugged me tight and laughed happily.

I love my neice. And seeing her grow up is like living with my brother's NICE twin. Only she's a girl.

I know that her mother will never, ever tell her that she was like her father. Her mother hates her father. Because he stomped on her dream and broke her heart. Because she expected him to be more than he ever could be and she wouldn't ever accept him for what he was.

But my neice... My neice is perfect. And I tell her that all the time. Always I tell her.

I pull her close to me and I hug her tight and I whisper in her ear that she's just like her father. I whisper that she's perfect. I whisper that I love her so very much. And I tell her she's just like her father. And she's perfect.

She loves me. And I love her.

I love my life.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own