The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Responsibility and Dylan Thomas

2000-05-12 - 20:44:36


ello ello ello...

Okay, any of you who have read Tiger's diary today will know what kick I'm on. Tiger is a reflection of me in a couple ways. But regardless... the point is this... we each make our own choices, we each choose our own paths, and if you don't believe me, you are wrong.

I suggest reading Tiger's diary entry for today before continuing this, as I'm kinda going on from where she left off... I'm expounding on what she said.

Each of us has the ability to choose for ourselves. Seriously... think about this.

When you have two choices standing before you, you have the option of selecting one, the other, or doing nothing at all. But ya know what? Doing nothing at all is making a choice too. it is a choice to remain stagnant. To remain where you are, unmoving, unchanging, ungrowing.

Do any of you remember the movie Dangerous Minds with Michelle Pfifer or however her name is spelled? That whole movie was a turning point in my life. I watched it and realized that, YES, we all have a choice. There are some people out there who believe that they have no options. That they have no recourse. That they have no choices.

Bullshit.

Even the def, blind, armless, legless, genderless individual has choices. THEY choose how they feel, how they react, how they talk, how they communicate.

They may have some restrictions, but, come on... If no one had any restrictions of any kind, we'd all be somewhat blob shaped organisms wobbling around on our minute-haired blob-legs, eating, drinking, cavorting, robbing banks, being nice, being mean.... all of the extremes, and doing it all over everyone else. *chuckles at the picture* I think Gary Larson should draw something like that. *smirks*

Regardless...

In the movie, they talk about making choices. Making the choice to live, to fight for what you want, to be alive and take responsibility for your actions.

And a few months after I saw that movie for the first time, I heard Don Henly's End of The Innocence tape. There's one song... "I Will Not Lie Down"... If you haven't heard it... please, either look for it and download it from Napster, or find it in your local music shop.

It's based on Dylan Thomas's poem, but I can't remember the exact words and Preston's being mean to me... he won't look it up FOR ME. *pouts* Everyone go over there and read his diary and bitch at him for me. *grins*

Actually, please don't bitch at him, but DO go to his page and read it. His diary rocks.

Anyway, back to the point... Hold one while I go find the poem. Actually... I'm going to save this and then come back and edit it... so if you're reading this and the poem isn't there... come back and check again, cause I"m gonna be putting the poem up on this entry.

Peace y'all... I'll be right back.



See? I told you I'd be back.

Anyway... this is the poem from Dylan Thomas

DO NOT GO GENTLE INTO THAT GOOD NIGHT

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.




So... read that a few times. And, then go see the movie Dangerous Minds. TRUST ME, please, see it.

It changed my life. Let it change yours.

Make your choice.

J




Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own