The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

BS 5/3

Monday, Jun. 23, 2003 - 12:45 pm


5 3 03

6a

Luke 21&22:1-38

I find that I have a difficult time with some of Jesus� prophetic statements. In 21:32 Jesus says �I tell you the truth, this generation will certainly not pass away until all these things have happened.� In the notes here it says the word for �generation� could mean �race�.

Now, since I personally believe that prophecy is conditional, I could understand that the part of the above prophetic statement which is conditional is the time limit.

Okay, maybe I�m not saying this right. *thinks*

Which part of the prophecy was to come before the generation was done? And is it really �generation� or �race�? Was the word �race� offered up because the translators couldn�t reconcile the statements with Jesus� infallible nature?

Maybe all the things Jesus said would come to pass, did come to pass. Since the time of Jesus� crucifixion there have been wars and fighting and nation rising up against nation. There has been some severe religions persecution, and more than once people have been jailed, beaten, tortured and killed for their religious beliefs. There have been betrayals and great destructions.

I don�t know� I guess I just don�t get verses 20 through 24. Some of these things have happened, I suppose, but� *shrugs*

Okay, granted, I was drawn to this chapter (22) to read the brief snippet about the widow�s offering, but four verses didn�t seem to be a long enough study.

*chuckles*

It�s not yet time for me to understand the story in Luke. It�s not knowledge I�m supposed to have yet� well, not necessarily �yet� per se, but �at this time�. I feel God directing me in a specific direction and discussion about �dooms day prophecy� is not where I�m directed. Mercy, kindness, tenderness and love are the areas I�m supposed to focus on right now. And, in my opinion, this is a good thing.

I like the whole snuggly thing rather than the all sharp edges thing.

What me? A wuss? Naw.



Amos 1:1&2

Okay� here is a prime example of problems with Biblical interpretation being largely an issue of differences in common vocabulary. We have Amos describing an earthquake as �The Lord roars from Zion and thunders from Jerusalem�� I may be the only one here, but I definitely could understand how that could be confusing.

See, my point about vocabulary is this, we have named things today which didn�t even exist during the writing of the Bible. There was no such thing as a �helicopter� or �tank� during the time of Moses. How could Moses have described one?

*shakes her head, dropping it*

Okay, I�m just going to go get dressed now. I�ve got about three hours before my fat-chicks meeting and I want to go grab coffee at Chuck�s before hand.

I also have to make sure my sweet and lovable juvenile delinquent pup doesn�t destroy Mom�s van while we�re out. He�s a little on the weird side. And man, if you ever wanted to see hyper, just take him in the car� I�m hoping that in a year or so he�ll calm down. *grins* But I wouldn�t put money on it.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own