The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

BS 5/9

Monday, Jun. 23, 2003 - 12:56 pm


5 9 03

5:55a

A number of thoughts have been tumbling through this brain of mine. Many of them rather unpleasant. For instance: The difference between losing weight via diet and exercise and losing weight via stomach-stapling surgery is control; or a matter of self-discipline. Either you have internal control (self-discipline) through which you stick with a specific diet and exercise plan, or you have external control (surgery) where the decisions are made for you. Okay, so this has been the major thing rolling around in my head.

Well, guess what comes up for me to read?

John 15:1-17

This chapter talks of Jesus being the vine and we, His brothers and sisters, being the branches. One verse sticks out for me. It is conditional, of course, on my being faithful to Him, but vs 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.
8 This is to my Father�s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

The part that really sticks out is this: ��ask whatever you wish and it will be given you.�

So� if I�m working on losing weight, and I want to discard the unnecessary fat, why am I doing this on my own? Aren�t I supposed to be giving this difficult thing over to God? Isn�t that what I believe? Why am I sitting here trying to hide what God already sees from Him? Hello? Anybody inside this head of mine?

So, perhaps the surgery is an option for me, but shouldn�t I give God the first chance? Well, since I can�t give Him first chance, as I�ve already expended multiple chances� Shouldn�t I trust God before trusting a doctor?

So, maybe I should pull back and regroup a little on the weight issue. I mean, isn�t it presumptuous for me to place myself as a more important part of the equation than God? I don�t understand how anyone could get through a massive overhaul without God.

Eh� it�s all good. Whatever works for you� do that. Just don�t hurt me or the ones I love.

So, according to verse 16, if I have been chosen by Jesus to go and bear fruit then whatever I ask for, from God, in the name of Jesus the Christ, will be granted.

Okay, then I have to bite the bullet. I have to figure out how badly I want to be height/weight proportionate. I have to figure out how much I truly want to discard the weight.

That may well be the most difficult aspect of getting physically healthy; the commitment �doing it even though I hit roadblocks and great, big, huge-ass Ben and Jerry�s cartons. *chuckles*

John 15:18-27

This passage simply tells me to keep going, to move and function within God regardless as to what anyone else might say or think. I�m not working in this world for human praise. I�m working for God praise, and that doesn�t hinge on human opinion even in the least.

It doesn�t matter if someone doesn�t approve of what I�m doing. It�s not their job to judge me. Likewise, it�s not my job to lay down and let someone else judge me (ie: allow someone else�s opinion of who and what I am to negatively influence how I behave)

It is my job to focus on God and not get side tracked. And, when I do get side tracked, it�s my job to re-focus on God.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own