The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Bible Study 7/24

Thursday, Jul. 24, 2003 - 10:48 am


7 24 03

10:20a

Proverbs 15

More good advice. Mostly this chapter talks about being wise and seeking advice rather than being stupid and ignoring other people�s cautions. It also offers that the cheerful person will have an easier life than the bitter person.

Daniel 9:4-19

This is Daniel�s prayer for the people of Israel. In fasting and sack-cloth and ashes, Daniel prayed for forgiveness of sins, not just his and not just his people�s, but he prayed as if the sin of Israel were his own. He took responsibility for the errors of his nation and prayed for mercy and forgiveness.

It is proof to me that Daniel truly loved God; believed in Him and had faith in His mercy. Daniel prayed for mercy, not for the people�s sake, or his own, but for God�s sake. He prayed, telling God that the people of Israel were God�s people, that they bore His name and he requested mercy not because the people deserved it but because God is merciful.

This gives me suggestions on how to pray. It reminds me that I should be expending my prayer effort not for my own peace and glory and happiness, but because I�m a Christian, I should be ��.. That�s not the right phrasing. Let me try again.

I should be asking for mercy not because I want to be free from pain, but because I call myself a Christian. Because I bear the name of the Lord and because I want to bring glory to Him, I should adjust my prayer attitude. I should be asking God to use me as He directs. I should be asking Him to make me into what He wants me to be, rather than wanting to be comfortable.

I still don�t think I said that right, but I understand what I mean.

This is something I have to think about quite a bit.

Tomorrow, I want to start the book of Daniel from the beginning.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own