The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Mmmmm, self-agrandizement

2000-08-05 - 11a


(I was going to post this entry tonight in order to give y'all time to read last night's entry, but screw it... I'm not going to deprive my public of my own self-agrandizing words... so, cheers. Two posts in less than 12 hours oooooohhh *rolls her eyes*)

Well, I was going through Uncle Bob's message board Question of the Day (check it out every day, folks... and post your answers) and found out, as I was answering, that I felt quite vociferous this morning.

This is my answer, verbatim....

Well... hmmmm... how to answer this.

I've not been IN any live theater productions since grade school when my 2nd grade class assisted with the school's The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. BUT, I've been in many, many other kinds of productions.

I've not really been to plays. But I've been to the opera on many occassions... both Opera and Opretta. Tho I've never seen/heard Grand Opera (like Wagner, pronounced vah-gner).

I like some live musical theater... Miss Saigon for instance.

It all depends on where you see the production and which group is putting it on. If you've got a community theater doing the show... it will probably be interesting/good/funny... but not as good a show as a professional group.

Professionals do, on average, pull the audience in with every word. With a pro-group, most likely the audience would be pulled along to the point where thy became a player so to speak.

It just depends.

However... The joy/"good"ness of a particular work/production is severely hampered by the crappy seating. If you've got the cheap seats (second balcony) you can still hear the work, but you can't enjoy it as much as if you're sitting in the Loge or box seats. The Loge is best tho...

~~~~~~~

*looks up at that diatribe, shaking her head* Sorry... got into a whole tangent there.

Peace y'all...

==============================

So, that was my reply on the Question of the Day message board. And all of you, if you're not die-hard Uncle Bob fans yet... What's yer problem??? *grins*

Regardless... I was wondering how many folks out there actually have gone to such "cultural events" as the Opera. How many of you have actually gone to a Grand Opera production?

I've been immersed in that culture, up to my eyeballs at times, and am quite familiar with the performance arts. When I was attending Cornish in Seattle, I got to meet some very impressive people. Music afficianadoes such as Peter Mack... pianist extrodinaire; Louise Marley, and incredible Mezzo Soprano and the best vocal instructor I've ever had; Peter Taub, the best floutest I've ever heard, and a kick-ass sight-reading instructor. Hell, there were many, many people there.

And, as an interesting bit of trivia... Brendan Frazier... ya know, Encino Man, George of the Jungle, the Mummy... he graduated from Cornish the year before I went. Oh, if only I'd done the concurrent enrolement during my Junior year of highschool instead of Senior. *sighs*

Regardless... I'm well-versed in many areas of the performing arts. So, I've not only seen many shows, both academic and professional... I've performed in many of them as well. I played the role of the Sorceress in "Dido and Aneas"... Buttercup in "HMS Pinnafore", a shepherdess in "Amahl and the Night Visitors", the Queen in an anthological production.

Hell, I've also done the behind-the-scenes thing too. Properties Mistress for "Songs of the Cedar House" by Greg Youts. Sets and blocking in more than four productions put on by the two different colleges I attended. *shrugs* Just that kind of stuff...

I've always been into that performance thing. Hell... My voice teacher was complaining at me once, about how I really needed to work on my stage presense... *chuckles softly* I sort of just stood there and didn't do much. BUT, then she heard me and watched me as I was singing in a concert once...

==== at Cornish there were free concerts for the public every Tuesday and Thursday from noon to one. The music students could sign up to perform during these concerts and such. SO, I did. Figured what the hell, ya know?... so, during one of those concerts, I just started singing when it was my turn and all... I didn't feel any different. But after she saw that concert, my teacher said I didn't have to work on stage presense at all... that I was a different person in front of an audience. *shrugs* She seemed to think it was something impressive. *shrugs again* I know I (underscore, underscore, bold) didn't do anything ====

Regardless... The whole point of this self-agrandizement was to tell ya that.....

*thinks for a moment....*

Actually, I have no idea why I started this whole entry. Most likely it was to promote myself, get attention and adoration while trying to sound humble. *shrugs* Regardless, I'm tired and so I'm gonna grab a nap. I'll be back and I'll post this tonight, after I've re-read it. Hell, I might edit it a lot.

So, til later...

Ciao bella



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own