The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

himem.sys... what's that?

Aug. 16, 2000 - 10:10p


Gah... I really hate it when I screw up. *rolls her eyes* The next few entries, folks, are going to be QUITE short. *laughs* For some strange reason, I decided to enter DOS on my own comp when it wouldn't actually go through the entire process of logging into Windows.

*smiles* Now, imagine this individual, desperately wanting to get into Windows, turning on her comp, waiting for it to go through the login process... and then being told there was a problem with the DVK file/system (!?). Now, I haven't the foggiest idea what the DVK file/system is. Nor do I have any idea why it would preclude my actually getting into windows, but whatever it is, it did.

SO, I enter DOS, figuring I'll run a scandisk and then defrag to see what the problem is. Wonderful, we can run scandisk, but since I have Win 95, we need to be IN windows in order to run the defrag. *rolls her eyes*

Well, I try turning on my comp again... only to find out that there is "no himem.sys file... be sure to check your windows directory to make sure the file is there"... *rolls her eyes* So, we type in dir/p/w cause I"m not a speed reader, and I find out that the himem.sys file IS there.

Hmmmmmmmm, something is wrong here, on my beastie which has given me attitude up the butt for the past year. *sighs*

So, I type out the file... and get a whole bunch of funny symbols.

THIS is where I SHOULD have stopped. *laughs* No dice.

I figured, just play with it a little more, that would make a difference. It's kinda like, when your stereo doesn't work, if you just jiggle the wires a little, that will take care of the problem. *laughs* Don't do that with a computer unless you're my Addiction or Charles. *chuckles softly*

I'm neither of those people.

And It shows.

So, I punch up the directory again, and what to my wondering eyes is clear??????

*gasps for all the good boys and girls* THERE IS NO HIMEM.SYS FILE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now... The normal person would have stopped there. Did I? Hell no!!! I chose to type in a number of commands which did absolutely nothing. I went from the windows directory to the DOS directory, to the help directory and all the above. Now I REALLY have no himem.sys file, nor do I have the disk that will let me reload Win95 altogether.

Thus, MY computer is out of commission. Luckily, within a couple weeks, I'll have a BRAND NEW COMPUTER. Well, brand new to me. And, I'm going to call my computer buddy tomorrow and get his advice on the whole deal. It's possible that all I need to do is take the thing to him.

Hell, he'll just look at it, look at me, type a few keys and the beastie will be running fine. I'll wonder what in hell he did, but just stare in dumbfounded shock.

So, IF I ever get chosen as one of the Diaryland Survivor contestants, PLEASE don't make any of the immunity challenges having to do with entering your BIOS, DOS, directories or searching out your now-you-see-me-now-you-don't himem.sys file.

Please

I'm begging here.

*chuckles*

Peace unto thy hearts, friends.

And, lets hope my Mom's ancient, slow, 66mhz comp will allow me to post daily. *chuckles*

Love to you all, mine dahlinks...



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own