The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Turkey Day Undone... or something

2000-11-25 - 01:07:11


====Music to veg-out to... River Of Tears: Eric Clapton====

Well, so that's what Turkey Day is like in the big city.

*chuckles* Welcome back, my dear hearts.

It's been a long, long two days. Very long. Surprisingly long. *chuckles quietly* At least I don't have to work tomorrow. I don't have to do anything tomorrow, actually.

Most of what I have planned over the next couple days is sleaping and cleaning. And, writing. I'm going to be doing a lot of writing. Most of it, for the Newsletter. For now, it's nice to be home, in my own room, on my own bed, in my typical typing garb. (I'm not going to go into what that is, just use your imagination)

The trip. Man, it was LONG. *chuckles*

It's been more than a year since I've been to the city. About four years since I"ve driven around in the city for any real amount of time. Or rather, since I"ve been North of Seattle. Last October I was in Seattle for a few hours as I was taking Bryan back to the Airport after his five days here.

I so don't want to live in the city. I don't like it. It's busy, fast, frenetic and so.... *frowns slightly* So big. *chuckles*

I also don't want to have a motorhome as my main mode of transportation. *chuckles quietly* I REALLY don't want the RV for that. On a 200 mile (one way) trip, we used exactly a full tank of gas. I think it's a 22 or 25 gallon tank. I don't remember. But, you do the math. That's sucky gas mileage.

====Music to veg-out to... Old Love: Eric Clapton====

Anyway... In a conversation the other day, Charles was talking about how he wants an SUV and he was contemplating either a Chevy Suburban or a Ford Expedition. *chuckles* Well, My Uncle's had several Suburbans, so I knew what they looked like. However, I'd not seen an Expedition. UNTIL Wednesday morning. *laughs*

Charles has to get an Expedition. That's what Det. Jim Ellison drives on the show The Sentinel. They're so sweet lookin. And they handle a little better than the Suburbans. It's gotta be dark blue, Charles. You can't go wrong. *laughs, winking*

Okay, so it's obvious that I"m tired. Let's see... a re-telling of the events of Turkey day.

It was good, over all. Dad was already up in Tacoma on business, so he stayed up there. Mom and I drove up Thursday (woah, that was yesterday, *rolls her eyes at herself*) with the kids, my Niece and Nephew.

It was a fairly uneventful drive up. We prayed about it before we went, asking for the protection on the drive, safety, that the vehicle keep together and that the others on the road stay safe and get to their destinations on time and in one piece. Then, we made the first leg of the journey. From Long Beach up to Monetsano. That's an hour and 45 minutes with no traffic and in a decent car, going by the speed limit. I took us about two hours, ten minutes, give or take five.

====Music to veg-out to... Riveria Paradise: Stevie Ray Vaughan====

We let the kids out and make a potty stop, letting Joey have a bathroom break as well. Then, Damien gets back in the RV first... and promptly (accidentally) locks the door. *chuckles* So, instead of me getting a potty break alone, without the Joey-kins, I waited for Mom and the keys. *chuckles* Then the kids went back inside, Joey was inside and Mom and I got back in the front and treked out.

Second leg of the journey. *chuckles* Montesano to Kirkland. 2.5 hours obeying the speed limit and with no traffic. We made it in three. Decent time for the mamoth beastie on wheels. And, there was surprisingly little traffic Northbound. Southbound it was a different matter altogether. Mad traffic. *chuckles*

Anyway, we got there to Gram's place. it was nice to see the house, but the quiet road the house had been on, was being broadened and all the trees across the road were cut down to make room for more houses.

This neighborhood is one where Gram got a three bedroom, two bath, livingroom, diningroom, kitchen and sitting room with nice fenced backyard for about 110,000 15 or so years ago. Now, however, that house would go for nearly 250,000+. No shit. The houses going in now, the new and in-progress houses that are being put up are, to start, nearly 350,000 and up. With NO yards. I mean, there would be about six houses, or more on one, side of a regular block. Wild crowding.

====Music to veg-out to... Majick -- Cirrus Remix: DJ Keoki====

Anyway, we got into the house, Gram was there, Aunt Cheryll, Uncle Mark and his girlfriend Tina (and Tina's daughter), Mom, Dad, Brandace and Damien, and me. Uncle Ken came a little later and stayed long enough to eat, but he had to go early.

Since he had the heart transplant earlier this year, he has to wear a mask and such when he's around other people. It's that whole suseptible to germs thing. BUT, Uncle Ken looked GREAT!!!!

No shit. He looks healthier than he has for a long, long time. It was so good to see him. And I got to hug him. And he played with Joey a little. That was way cool. *grins*

So, dinner was great. Turkey, Mashed taters, gravey (big dissapointment on the gravey, it was just on-the-fly gravey, not the good stuff gram usually makes. *pouts*) Sweet potatoes, brocoli and cheese "caserole", Potato Salad (!?!?!) and pies.

Aunt Cheryll has always been the pie maker for the family gatherings. She'd take special orders from the family members and such, and make sure that everyone got their personal preference. However, I made the pies this year. And, Aunt Cheryll said that she has now officially stepped down from making the pies. It's now, officially, my job. *chuckles*

====Music to veg-out to... Various selections from Paul Oakenfold====

Uncle Mark was really cool this year. This is the first year, since I"ve known him, that he hasn't been stoned. *chuckles* My Uncle Mark has been a pothead since he was about 15 or so. And it wasn't until just a year or two ago that he gave up the ganja. He was alert and funny and contributed to conversation, which just rocked the house... y'all. *chuckles*

In fact, it was Uncle Mark (now aproximately 45 years old) who told us the REAL orrigin of Turkey Day. It wasn't indians and pilgrims over turkey and such... It was actually the Hungarians and they didn't have the "traditional" Thanksgiving fare... they had Chicken Popperkache (family dish), Kielbasa and cabbage.

So, next year, we're having the Popperkache and Kielbasa. *grins*

Actually, the decree was made, this is the LAST Turkey Day in home. Next year, we go to a restaurant. *smirks* Of course, that will last til I get married and have a house large enough to have folks over.

Hell, Mom and I were planning a few future Turkey Day celebrations. I figure I"ll be married... Have a kid about a year old or so. My husband will have rigged the baby's walker-thingie with special electrical sensors that give a specific chime depending on what room the baby is "walking" its way into. *smirks*

But, I'll do the turkey, taters, gravey, stuffing and pies. The Pies will all be done the day before. And, of course, we'll have my specialty every year... White Chocolate Cheesecake. *grins*

Mom will bring the Sweet Potatoes. Cheryll will bring the h'orse durves (sp) and the little accutremonts. Uncle Mark will be responsible for the alcohol. Oh, you bet your ass he will. *grins*

I tell ya, I was there not 10 minutes before I had a Corona in hand. *grins* Hot damn, I love my Uncle. *smirks*

Anyway, Uncle Mark and I will do music. Uncle Mark most, cause I"ll be doin cookin and stuff. And, of course, I'll have MY kitchen. *grins*

See, I designed that on my way up there Yesterday. I told Mom all about it too. *grins* My Kitchen is gonna be HUGE. Absolutely HUGE. There'll be an island in the middle, with a corning range top. Double ovens along the wall. Another range beside the ovens. Electric. I don't like gas ranges or ovens. *rolls her eyes*

There will be a cast iron rack over the island from which copper and cast iron pots and pans will hang. I'll use the copper to serve, but not to cook in. The cast iron? It's a crime to not cook with cast iron if you have it. *smirks*

OH, as per the Turkey Day at our house, when I get married next time, I'll also do the biscuits. home made biscuits. Not the cheapo Bisquik biscuits either. From scratch. *grins*

Anyway. my kitchen. *grins, then salivates* We'll have a huge, walk-in cooler and an equally huge walk-in freezer. With the special safety-release buttons on the inside. AND, they'll be specially sensitive, so that our kids, if they're foolish enough to let the door close behind them, will be able to open it without having to body-block the damned cooler doors. *chuckles*

Anyway, lots and lots of cool things in my kitchen. And, I'm sorry to all you people out there who think that couples shouldn't have separate things, those of you who think that I'm being greedy and mean-spirited when I say, so emphatically, that it will be MY kitchen. But, cmon... It will be MY kitchen.

If my husband wants a kitchen his way, he can have one of his own. He can use mine, but he must know, it's MY kitchen. If he expects me to cook in it, then everything goes where I want it. Everything gets kept the way I like it. It's MY kitchen, demmit. Stay out unless you've been instructed to do something specific.

And, if you're not going to put the dishes away in their proper places, don't touch them. *chuckles quietly* I can get quite bitchily proprietary when I want to. I didn't do that with Duncan, but I also quit cooking altogether.

So, whoever my husband is... Know this, wherever you are... if you want me to cook, then don't mess up my kitchen. If you DO mess up my kitchen, or if you insist that it's OUR kitchen, then I will have no enthusiasm for cooking, and you'll get bland and irritatingly similar dishes.

However, if you're willing to give me the kitchen, or at least, 90% of the kitchen, then I will do a number of things. I'll make intricate and delicious meals. I will cook often and with much joy. AND, I will NOT take up room in your shop!!!! In fact, I'll only go into YOUR shop to deliver lemonade and treats or to get a tool you specifically ask me for.

As for the tools thing... It is my firm belief that a man's shop is HIS domain. His tools, for his projects, for his needs. I have every right to ask him to fix things around the house, but I do NOT have the right to go in and take his tools at my whim.

By the same token. Don't wear my underclothes and we'll be cool. *smirks*

And yes, for you purists out there, that was a joke. He can wear my underclothes as long as he washes them. *smirks, winking*

In our house, each of the kids can have their own "large responsibility" pet when they hit about 10 or so. They can get a dog or cat, but if they get a cat, the cat has to stay in their room. I'm allergic to cats, so I can't just have a cat roaming the house. I'd be wheezing and coughing and sneezing all the damned time.

And, who wants home made ravioli with a little extra string, eh? *shakes her head* Not me.

Mom asked me... "So, if the kid wants a horse, are they required to keep the horse in their room too?" *laughs* My reply was akin to... No, the horse would stay out in the stable with the other horses. *chuckles*

Mom said she didn't want to be a burden to me when she grew old and needed that 24/7 kind of care that so many of our grand parents and great grand parents need. Well, I told her that she'd have a place at our house. She asked if that wouldn't cause problems with my husband. I said... "No. You'll have the cabana out back. My husband will work and probably put up with the fact that I like my mother, figuring it's just a phase." *smirks*

Okay, so I'm totally babbling and about nothing important. About a fantasy which has years before it comes to fruition, and I need a husband first. Which means that I have to stop fantasizing and be the kind of person a man would take for a wife. *smirks*

which, probably means, I should actually start, ya know.... cleaning. *shudders*

Yes, I think there's no real way for me to get around it. If I"m going to be married, and if he's going to support me, then I have to clean. Or see to it that the place is kept clean. Besides, as much as I bitch about cleaning and not cleaning. I really do prefer a clean house. As long as I can be lazy and don't have to do the work. *smirks*




Ahem... Onward...

Turkey day.

After the dinner, it was real peaceful. The kids were watching TV and the real adults were talking, Cheryll and Ken went home, so I figured I'd have a little alone time out in the RV. I went out there with every intention of actually writing for a while, maybe doing some Bible study. BUT, instead, I layed down and... promptly fell aslee. *chuckles*

Course, I only slept for about an hour or so. I'd wanted to catch a nap since I"d only had four hours of sleep the night before. And, last night, it was hell sleeping. I got about five hours accumulated sleep. Woke up twice. Was up at 5:30 or there abouts. *shudders*

So, I'm planning on sleeping in. Real late, tomorrow.

I'm so hoping. *chuckles*

Anyway, so this morning, the kids get ready to have their father pick them up. Now, this is the first time I've seen my brother in quite a while. And the first time I've seen him politely for more than five minutes at a stretch in over 6 years.

I've been praying about this. Dan's refused any contact whatsoever with Mom or Dad for a long while. Today, he came in, had a glass of soda, and talked with us for nearly 45 minutes. That was SO damned cool.

His new marriage is good for him. Very good. Dan and the kids were sitting on the couch, with Bronson (Dan's old weener dog, now gram's dog) on Dan's lap. And they were howling with the dog. Literally howling. *grins brightly* Oh, it was so good. So wonderful to have a gentle, kind and warm "family" moment.

Oh, thank you, Father, for the healing of this family unit. This was so wonderful. Thank you.



Anyway, the drive back down was pretty good. Mom went to lunch with her sister, Cheryll. Dad and gram and I went out to a place called "Milestone American Grill". *rolls her eyes* Ick. The food was okay and all, but the atmosphere just.... sucked. It was so.... sterile.

But, then Mom and I began the trek back home. We left Kirkland at about 2p, a little before that, and got home at about 7 ish.

It was good, all in all. But it was a long two days. And, I'm going to sleep really, really well tonight.

Anyway, I'm going to draw this to a close.

May all your positive dreams come true. And soon. Peace unto thy hearts, mine dahlinks.

And remember... Next year, Chicken Popperkache and Kielbasa with Cabbage. *grins*

kisskiss





Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own