The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Dreaming of fanciful things like Pukers and Sandy's

2001-01-21 - 02:58:54


Good evening, friends and frienders. Or something.

Well, I just got out of a wonderful, LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG bath. And I feel so good. Of course, my fingers are still wrinkled and my legs are still a little red from the heat of the water, but it felt sooooooooooooo nummy.

It's not like you really want to know this, but deal with it. *chuckles*

When I take showers, I use lukewarm water. I do NOT like hot showers. There's just something.... wrong about a HOT shower. But I like HOT baths. Dunno. I think it's a left-over from all those showers at summer camp.

Ya know... when you've got six dorms of girls and six more of boys, all on a single, rather small island... and each dorm houses aproximately 20 kids and a counselor... you tend to get stuck with cold water when you shower. Especially when you don't like to "rush" yourself. *chuckles*

And, of course, there was that time when you had to "shower" before and after swimming in the pool. It was an outdoor shower faucet. *chuckles* So up here in the North West, on an Island in the Puget Sound, when the cool wind blows across the field you tend to bust your butt and sprinkle yourself under the shower in order to jump quickly into the warm pool.

And getting out is fun too, cause you've been in that warm water, swimming around for about an hour, just being all warm and swim-like, when you have to get out and you'd swear the temperature dropped by fifty degrees in that single hour.

*laughs*

Man that's a wonderful memory.

I remember learning to sail. I believe that I shall forever harrass David Palmer about this. He really did ruin the whole sailing thing for me. He thought it would be fun to tease the short red-head who wasn't all that keen on being in a tiny little three person sail boat anyway.

He was one of those folks who would rock the boat. Literally. *laughs* We actually capsized (flipped over) and I walked back to shore.

And yes, that's how "far" out we were. We were so close to Tanglewood Island that me, at 10 years old, was able to WALK back to the shoreline. *laughs*

Oh, and then there was Bryan White. Damn he was so cool. He was one of those stunningly handsome guys. Even as a teen. He was tall, thick and had dark hair and blue eyes. The classic "tall, dark and handsome" type. But, he was also gentle, kind and tender.

Damn, I had the hugest crush on him. *laughs*



Oh, and for you Country fans, I'm NOT talking about THAT Bryan White. Obviously. The Country singer, Bryan White, is blond....... or was in the last video I saw.

Regardless... I think my shower and bath habits are left over from camp.

Dunno.

I really need to find a place around here where I can swim. And no, sorry, I can't swim in the ocean. We've got a deadly undertow out here. Literally. In the past four years, we've averaged one death a summer.

Tourists come out here and ignore the "No Swimming: Dangerous Undertow" signs. GAH. What can you expect from the damned Pukers?

And to reiterate... for those of you who haven't read me for long, Pukers is the slang word the locals use to classify tourists. The title originated with those people who came out here for the sportfishing. (big industry)

The Pukers would come out on a Friday and spend all Friday night drinkin in one of the many bars or taverns (another big "industry". Number one, I think), then would get up at 4 or 5am in order to make their charter. Then, instead of fishing, they'd be pukin all damned morning.

Thus, Pukers.

Now the term doesn't only apply to those who go fishing, but to any tourist who comes out here and does something really stupid. Except the Sandy's. Those have their own name. And it's big business for the few towing places out here.

See, Long Beach is appropriately named. This peninsula has the longest uninterrupted beach in the world. A little over 26 miles of beach, in fact.

And, people love to drive the beach. No problem if you know what to expect and how to avoid the soft sand. However, there are ALWAYS hotdogs who come out thinking their 4bys are gonna keep them from getting stuck. Heh. I got news for ya, ya Sandy.

*chuckles*

I've been thinking about doing a short survey of towing places here on the peninsula to find out how many people actually get stuck and need to be towed every summer. *chuckles* I bet the numbers would be pretty damned high.

*grins, waggling her brows*

SO, if you do come out here and decide to drive on the sand... *rolls her eyes* Avoid the soft sand, folks. If you feel yourself slipping into the soft sand, DO NOT STOP!

Don't spin your wheel so hard that you'd jackknife your rig if you were in a semi. Simply take a breath, say a prayer, remember where your yuppy ass put your cel phone and keep driving. Slowly, granted, but keep going. As long as you're still moving, you have hope.

But, please, if you're in a fricken Jag or a Beemer, save yourself the tremendous tow bill and just stay off the fricken beach. Ya damn Sandy.

*chuckles*

Oh, and for those of you who might have a doubt, the above was all tongue in cheek. It's meant as a joke. Tho the advice is legit. If you DO find yourself driving on the beach, which can be an incredible sight, don't stop out there. Slow down to view the sites and all, but don't stop.

Once you stop, there's a really good chance that you're not gonna get your car out without the help of a tow truck. And, they do charge a little more for problem folks. I mean it. If you get your car stuck multiple times, the tow companies will either refuse to get you out, or will charge you a lot more.

Oh, and my other disclaimer, tho the term "puker" is legit and widely used within the local groups, the term "sandy" is not widely used. It's a very new term to this area. So don't call the tow company and say you're a sandy, cause they'll think that's your name. *chuckles*



Another thing about this place, tho it IS a tourist town and thrives on the tourist season, if you come to town with a bitchy, yuppy attitude, yakkin on your cel phone about the "colorful locals", you will be treated poorly. You will be taken for the rich "mark" you are.

If you come up here with a desire to experience the stunning beauty of this area and have an attitude of peace and acceptance, you will find the locals to be the most kind, helpful and generous people in the entire world. Or close.

Actually, the people of Trinidad and Tobago are the nicest, most generous people I've ever seen/met/talked to/visited with. But we locals of the peninsula can be very, very nice.

AND, if you're honestly stuck in the sand and it was an act of naivte rather than sheer stupidity, we'll pull you out of the sand. Hell, we'll stand on your bumper to try givin you the traction you need. We'll even take blankets and coats out of our cars to give your tires something to grip so that you can get movin again.

Just hide your yuppy-ass cel phone first. *grins*




I started the re-writes on Designing Destiny. I've only gotten through the first two sections tho. *chuckles* It ended up being 25 parts. I don't know if it's actually long enough to be considered an actual novel. And I don't have an official word count yet, but the first 8 sections amount to just over 14,000 words. *chuckles* That's a long-ass piece of work, folks. Shocked me to bits.

Regardless... I'm gonna be working on that for a while, tho I'm not going to be posting the re-writes. As I said, when I get it all done, I'll post a copy to my website and give you the link.

The first couple sections have already been posted, and it's not too long. If you want to go there, the URL is as follows:


www.geocities.com/TigreFatalis/DD.html

I don't know how long it's going to take me to get through the original re-write, but I'll keep ya posted.




I had a really cool dream this morning. It just blew me away. I really wish this would happen in real life.

I was at some park attending an event of some sort. I was dressed in SCA garb, but I highly doubt that it was an actual SCA event. *chuckles*

Regardless... I was at this event and walking up to a concession stand type thing. There was a female manning the counter. She had long dark hair. I smiled at her then turned and who was standing beside me but.....




.........





..........




wait for it....







..........





Lorenzo Lamas (I can't remember how his last name is spelled, forgive me).

For those of you who don't know who I'm talking about, he's the actor who played Reno Raines on Renegade. He's that awesomely gorgeous man who rode the awesome-sweet Harley. Hot damn, I had a crush on him somethin fierce.

Anyway, so he's standing beside me with that gorgeous long hair of his and I looked up at him, shocked, of course. I asked him if he was who I thought he was and he grinned... ya know, that gorgeous grin of his with that mouth of his that just promises to be the best kiss you've ever experienced.

*laughs*

Okay, so maybe I'm revealing too much here.

Regardless, we talked for a little bit, very little bit, and I asked him how his wife was, stating that I hoped she was doing well and was healthy. He looked at me with surprise in his eyes saying something akin to, "You mean... you're not trying to make a pass at me?"

*laughs brightly*

I shook my head, told him I thought he was sexy and I'd had a crush on him since I was about 13, but that I was honored to meet HIM, not the actor but the man. I told him that I was impressed with the new show he was doing (that's where the dream was inspired, I think... I saw a comercial for the new series he's in, tho I can't remember the name of it, nor the chanell it's going to be on, but he's like a demon hunter or some such. It's probably on USA or something like that....) [Sympatico just remeinded me of the name of the new show. The Imortal. I'm REALLY looking forward to it.]

Anywho...

So we got up to the counter and I looked at the woman, narroed my eyes in concentration and then said.... "Oh, and this is your wife..." I looked at her and gabbed with her for a minute, complimenting her and then wishing the two of them every happiness and such.

I then walked away. *chuckles*

My dream then cut to another scene (my dreams are kinda like movies that way) where I was again talking with Mr. Lamas, telling him about some project or other I was working on, and he took a wad of bills from his pocket and gave me one.

*laughs* I said thank you but that he didn't have to do that, I was just talking about it, not asking for money. He told me to take it as a donation and that he wanted to be a part of what I was doing, however small a part that was.

*laughs at herself*

I thanked him and put the bill in my pouch/wallet/thingie.

Later, after we'd finished the conversation, I looked at the bill. And guess what?

Cmon, guess.

I betcha can't guess.

I betcha can't.

Well, okay, I'll tell ya.

(Damn you, Uncle Bob for teaching me to eat up space that way.)

Mr. Lorenzo Lamas, one of the actors I actually had a crush on and would like to actually talk to IRL, gave me a five thousand dollar bill.

I say again, A FIVE THOUSAND DOLLAR BILL!!!!




Now, granted, in the dream it was real and legal tender and in real life I don't know if there is such a thing as a $ 5,000 bill... but, it was cool nonetheless.

Lorenzo Lamas liked me enough to actually talk with me, not just do the sign the autograph and get her off my back kind of star thing, but actually communicate. TWICE.

AND, atop that, he liked the project I was working on so much that he donated $ 5,000.

Now, is that a cool-ass dream or what?

And what's more... His wife was so fuckin cool. She had a great sense of humor and was so damned sweet. None of that high muckety muck I'm a star and you're not kind of attitude, but out and out nice person.

That was so cool.

The dream was SO wonderful that it smoothed over the fact that I did NOT get the package I was expecting. *pouts*

But, all in all, this was an AWESOME day.



OH, something I forgot. I went to write at LBT and decided to play three dollars on pull tabs. Woohoo, I won 33 bucks. Great. I just feel so wonderful tonight. Thanks to Clapton. *chuckles*

Anyway, I'm hoping that there might be something prophetic to my dream. I'd love the 5 grand, but that's small potatoes next to actually meeting Lorenzo Lamas and his wife. That would just rock.



I've never had the desire to meet a "star" just because they were a star. I never wanted to do that ogling thing. and I never liked making a big deal about someone just because they got a blessing to be in the spotlight. However, I have always wanted to meet and converse with Lorenzo Lamas.

I want to know why he took the role he did... why he made the choices in his life. I've always wanted to dive into his mind and find out who and what he is, ya know? *chuckles* I think that would just be so damned cool.

Anyway, I should really get going. Perhaps tomorrow I'll post about all the other celebrities I would like to meet and converse with.

But, right now, I wish to converse indepth with Joseph. So there. *chuckles, winking*

Love to you, mine dahlinks.

Peace unto thy heart.





Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own