The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

More babbling about Perceptions

2001-06-08 - 7:57 p.m.


I was thinking about Perceptions some more this afternoon. Specifically, I was thinking about what it was that made him so popular.

Now, I know for a fact that Bobby isn't posting things just so that people will think he's hot shit. I know this, because he's stated it a number of times. He has stated that he posts things that her perceives in his life.

Still, I hear references to him, I see plugs to him and I have gone to check his diary sometimes two and three times a day, just on the off-chance he's posted more than once. (like my already-three-posts-day)

I wonder if perhaps he wouldn't get as many readers talking about him if he were more long winded. I wonder if he would actually care one way or the other. I wonder, sometimes, if he sits there at his computer, going back every half hour just to see his hit-count rise. *chuckles*

So, that shoots me off in the direction of what is it that I like so much about reading Bobby. I think its his child-like willingness to say anything he's thinking.

Don't get me wrong here, folks, I'm not calling Bobby childish. I'm actually saying child-like in a positive and complimentary manner. One of the things I really appreciate about children is their blatant honesty.

Granted, I don't always like it when a kid (or anyone else for that matter) comes up to me and asks, point blank, "Are you pregnant or just fat?"

Most adults condemn children for saying such things. Most adults tell children that it's rude to ask such a question. And yes, it might well be rude because it is sometimes embarrassing for the subject of the question.

However, truth should never be embarrassing.

(try to keep up, folks... I'm letting my mind just spew out the words in its own fashion... that means the tangents have control this evening)

If one doesn't want to hear the truth, why is that? Is it because you don't want to admit that what you're doing or who you are isn't really what or who you want to be?

Is it because you are ashamed of the thing you're doing and don't want anyone to know about it?

If a child, or a person unhindered by "protocol" (being politically correct -- which is a farce in and of itself and a rant saved for another time--), notices something about you, don't you think that other people notice it too, but are too "polite" to comment?

Now, I do understand the need for some self control in the name of being polite, for instance, I'm not all that keen on walking down the street to the sound of those teenagers (this has happened on more than three occassions) screaming out "FAT BITCH" at me... that, in my opinion, is not an honest statement of fact, but a rude attempt at pissing someone off.

However, It is not a lie, nor should I be ashamed to have someone notice, that I am fat. Hey, I'm fat. I'm not as fat as I used to be. I'm fatter than I was as a child. It's kind of obvious. You can't really say it's all muscle. No one has that many jiggly muscles around their belly, ass, thighs. Trust me.

I have great reverse bi-ceps. But that's just not the way the body was made. Huge digression which gets cut off here.

The point.....

Damn, 'rents are here... gotta jet out. I'll finish this in about 20 minutes. hasta


Okay, so that was a false alarm... back to the point... Just because something is embarrassing, doesn't mean it isn't true. And, if it's really all that embarrassing that you don't want anyone to know, why are you doing it?

So, when I think about Perceptions and the type of person Bobby might be... I don't know anything about him but what I've read on the diary... I tend to think that if Bobby and I met in person, he would have the courage to buck the norm and ask me, "Are you pregnant or just fat?"

And I really don't think that Bobby would have any other meaning behind the question than the average kid does... and that meaning is purely... curiosity.

Honest and innocent curiosity.


Now, I am fully and completely aware that my own perception of Bobby might be way off... but I don't think so. I really believe that if there were anything Bobby wanted to know, he would ask it. Without reservation and without being bogged down by a false sense of what is and is not politically correct.

Of course, I could be so far off the mark it's not funny... but again, I don't think so.


So, Bobby, if you ever see this... Are you offended by being called child-like in regard to your honesty? It's an honest question.




Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own