The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

And more ranting about PCness and such

2001-06-08 - 9:36 p.m.


Okay, so this is the fourth entry today... so sue me. *chuckles* I was just in a writing mood, I suppose.

I am pondering politically correctness.

What is being politically correct? And how many of you out there really give a damn about being politically correct? I'm sure that there is at least one person out there who cares about the whole PC thing.

Well, if you are that person, or those persons, then you might not want to read this unless you understand that I'm spewing my opinions.




One of the greatest sacriligious and blasphemous things I have ever, in my life, ever, heard of, is the PC Bible. Think about it... God was NOT politically correct. Ever. God did not ever pussy foot around issues. He didn't call people Israeli-Egyptians.

There is a verse in the Bible (which I can't remember right off the top of my head) which states that anyone who removes from the Bible, or adds to it, has sinned against God. That, to me, means someone changing the Bible.

Now, I haven't purchased or read the PC Bible, but I have heard a few sections from it. And those sections? Completely changed the meaning... Hell... I'll close this rant on the PC Bible until I can actually find some excerpts and post them here so that I have specific examples to show you.



Anyway, I still detest the whole idea of being PC. I'm sorry folks... if you women are so damned insecure that you're not willing to accept the title of Fireman, but have to be called either a Firewoman or a Fireperson... frag off. That's completely and totally unnecessary.

I'm sorry if you think that your title has to reflect whether or not you have tits, but really... a fireman is a fireman, regardless of the gender. A fireman is a job title, not necessarily the person who has that specific job.

Also, postman/mailman, policeman... those are job titles, just like doctor and nurse.

I understand that some people don't want to be confused with their opposing gender, but really...

Hell, this is my point... When I say someone is a fireman, I mean that they work, or volunteer for the fire department. I do NOT mean that only a man can work to fight fires.

ANd, speaking of tangents... that's another thing that ticks me off... women who complain about how they want equal rights to jobs, but also want reduced standards for performance. I'm specifically talking about jobs that require physical exertion to complete.

I'm talking specifically of the example I saw on the news a while back... there was a group of women complaining about the physical tests they had to pass to be considered firepersons. They were complaining that since a man, generally speaking, has a 20% upper body strength advantage, that it was unfair to require women to attain the same standard.

I'm all for equality in job opportunities... IF you can accomplish the standard physical requirements. I don't want my house to burn down to the ground because the female fireperson wasn't able to control the hose.

*sighs*

Oh hell... I'm tired, it's been about an hour and a half in writing this cause I'm carrying on a bunch of other conversations... so I'm just gonna post it.

Just, please... don't pull that PC crap with me. I am not a Scotch-Irish-German-American. I'm a white-chick. And I don't often take the extra time to deliniate my entire heritage.

The more time you spend on obsessing about what people call you, the less time you spend living. Get over the titles and names and be who you are, not what you're called.

End Rant. For this moment in time.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own