The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

What would I do with 19 million dollars?

2001-07-20 - 10:58 p.m.


Had an awesomerific day today. It was great. I got out and walked. And walked. And walked.

For all of you who have been reading me for a while, you know all about that pain thing. The whole walk-a-block-and-fall-on-my-ass thing. Well, I've been able to make it about half a mile or so, with only one or two resting periods.

Sometimes the pain gets so intense that I can't make it more than six blocks or so. However, I decided today to see just how far I could push myself, or get to Chuck's, whichever came first.

SO, I had mom drop me off at the post office, which is about seven blocks from the house. (six North and one West) Then, from there, I walked two blocks West, two blocks North, one block East and then 18 blocks North. I only rested four times in all of that.

After coffee at Chuck's, I walked another four blocks North, caught the bus, then two blocks East and one North to get home. All in all, that was almost two miles of walking today. I did GOOD. And I feel great. 30 blocks total.

An awesome day and I still feel great.



For the last couple weeks, the 'rents have gotten together and bought three lotto tickets. I have six numbers, Mom has six numbers and Dad has six numbers. We started this when the jackpot was at 13 mil. Then it went up to 19 mil. Now it's back down to 1 mil.

Tonight I went in to check the most recent tickets. And we won. No lie. We won.

Of course, it was just 3 bucks. But still. We won. *grins*

Anyway, the 'rents were doing the "what if" game. Talking about all the different things they would do if they won 19 mil. What would they buy, what would they do, etc.

So, I figured I"d do a diary version of the "what if" game.



What if I won 19 million dollars:

Well, first off, I figure the tax would be quite a lot of that. So, for a conservative estimate, I'd say that to pay off all my debts (aproximately $10,000 total) and the taxes for that amount of money, I'll just knock off 9 mil right away.

So, that leaves me 10 mil to play with.

First things first, I'd pay off both my parents' debts. My mother's school loans are the big problem, then her credit cards and such. I would estimate with all of the debts combined, all dad's business debts and all those pesky personal debts, like borrowing 50 bucks from a sibling... I figure when all is said and done, $100,000 aught to cover absolutely everything.

Most likely, that would cover Aunt Cheryll's debts too. The whole heart transplant/hospital bill thing for my Uncle.

So, next step I"ll just say another $100,000 for the medical bills for Uncle Ken, just to play it safe.

That leaves $9,800,000. *grins*

I would have the blue prints drawn up for my house, buy the property and have my house built and furnished. I figure with all of it done, all the custom furnishings and the interior design stuff, all in all it would cost no more than 1 mil. Maybe a little more, but I doubt it. To purchase the house new, for the size and all, even in this area, would cost about $500,000 give or take a few.

Trust me, It's a huge house. And I do mean huge.

Anyway, next on the agenda... I'd buy my Mom's house for her. Whatever one she wanted. Figure top estimate for price at about $250,000. Then, one for Dad, top end, absolute top end estimate $150,000.

That brings us to what? 9.8 mil minus 1 mil minus 250 thousand minus 150 thousand. So, 8.4 mil left.

Okay, next item up for bid. I'd build the museum. The Ark. The property, museum, and start a fund to keep the thing running. I figure a nice, round 3 mil. I"d set aside 3 mil anyway. whatever it didn't cost to build would go into the running of the thing.

So, down to 5.4 mil

Okay, so that's bills, housing, sundry luxuries, museum. Next, my new car. I"d get two. One would be just for showing off, that would be the Corvette. Estimate about $60,000 for that. Then my Expedition. That would run probably about $30,000 or so. Not exactly sure on that. So, just to cover the odds and ends, figure about $100,000 for the vehicles.

Then I'd prepay the insurance on both for a year and put back money in an account JUST for the insurance and upkeep on those cars. Upkeep meaning maintanance and fuel both. Rough estimate, $150,000. That should do it, don'tcha think?

So, down to 5.25 mil

Now, comes the fun part.

I would set up a grant program, with 2 mil to start. People would have to apply for grants and based on their need and such, the award would be given to them.

For instance, if someone wrote in needing 300 bucks for a new washer cause their old one just died, if the reason was good enough, they'd get the washer. If a person who made 80 thou a year asked for money to finance a plantation in South America... I'd have second thoughts about giving them money.

Someone who is making 80 thou a year doesn't need a grant. However, someone who just graduated from school and wants to build a life, but has 60,000 bucks worth of school loans gaining interest by the second, won't ever get out from under those loans unless they get an 80 thou a year job. I'd do grants like that.

There'd be that core 2 mil and from the intrest off that, I'm sure we'd be able to help many, many people. So, whether I'm way off base about those figures or not, I believe that 2 mil would be more than enough to set something like that up.

That brings me down to 3.25 mil.

And, this is truly the fun part.

$250,000 goes to Covenant House.

Down to 3 mil

$50,000 and a brand new Ford Expedition will be delivered to Charles' apartment..... no, wait... I'd tell Charles' I was flying out to Dallas and ask him to pick me up. From the airport we'd go grab lunch somewhere, then we'd go to the Ford dealership and get him a brand new Ford Expedition. (or Chevy Suburban if that was his choice) When I left, I'd hide the 50 thou in various places around his apartment. All places he'd easily find it. Pockets of coats, medicine cabinet, inside pots and pans, in his briefcase etc. Small and large bills. Estimate total cost at 100 thou.

$50,000 to Russell. I'd show up at his house and knock on the door to surprise him. *grins* We'd go to lunch somewhere and go to the movies and such. I'd give him 25 thou in his hand... or rather, we'd go together and I'd start an account for him or something. Then, I'd hide the other 25 in various places around his room and in his car. (he's got a great car now)

2.85 mil

Similar story, 50 thou to Bob, Sean, Dawn, Kim, Amy, Shelly, Josh and Joe.

2.45 mil

I'd take my sister by the hand and ask her what she most wanted. I"d build her a studio. For her art work. (she's stunningly fantastic with her artwork) The studio would be seperate and exclusive of her home. She would design it and furnish it. She could even have a store front/gallery if she so chose. I figure, though, about 50 thou would cover it. She's not an extravigant person. She would not pick something lavish and I think she would be uncomfortable with straight cash.

2.4 mil

20 thou to my brother and sperm donar. 10 thou to my ex, specifically in a trust for his children, all three of them. 4 thousand for J, 3 for S and 3 for his son.

2.35 mil

25 thou each for Brandace and Damien in trust funds

1.3 mil

50 thou to Uncle Bob. 25 for he and his wife and 25 for Andy, in trust.

1.25 mil

25 thou to Andrew for help with all the D-land stuff. (I bet I'd get a Platinum or Diamond membership then *grins*)

25 thou to Dan... long story, don't ask.

1.2 mil




There's more I wanted to type here, but my brain is starting to turn to mush. I'm having to concentrate too much on the math part of this and it's no longer fun. *grins*

I'll think of more things to do tomorrow. AND, I'll remember the people I forgot.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own