The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

aimless prattling

2001-08-09 - 10:25 p.m.


I'm really tired, so I'm not planning to put much down here tonight, but who knows? The inspiration might strike me and then I'd have to strike back.

Or something.

I have been close to finishing the book, but real life keeps intruding. Doesn't look like I'm going to get to it tomorrow either. Which is a pain in the ass cause I've got four people who have promised to read it and give me real and honest critiques.

I do think I'm going to make it past tense rather than present tense, though. I don't know if a present tense book would go over well. It just... dunno... isn't done too often.

I'm thinking about lighting a candle in here, but I just don't have the energy to do so. It's not like I did anything difficult today that would merit my being so tired, but maybe I just slept too much last night.

I got about 8 hours of sleep, and would have slept longer if my back weren't hurting so damned badly. Oooohh, speaking of, I have to call my agent and tell them that I WILL be at the hospital for my X-rays on Tuesday. I got the letter today but forgot to call.

I get X-rays of my back and hip in order for the doc's to make some determination... whether or not I qualify for temporary disability. It would be so damned cool if I did qualify.

There are so many benefits that come with it. I'll get physical therapy again... which means I'll have a personal trainer and start weight lifting again. Woohoo.

I'll also get transportation and access to a pool. Woohoo, excersize that won't break me. I really want to start swimming again. Of course, in order to do that, I have to wear something that will get wet. That means that every more-than-ample curve will be accentuated. UGH.

However, since the end of April, I've dropped more than 30 lbs. WOOHOO. And, yesterday, I walked about a mile and a half. Didn't do any walking today, but I figure that with all the treks up and down the stairs today, I made up for it.

I have to call the phone company tomorrow and set up a payment plan to get my own line started. When we get moved in to the new house, I'll have my own line, and hopefully either a DSL or cable modem, one or the other.

If I get the DSL, they've got a program out here where you can get the split line thing... meaning, I'd be able to get phone calls while I was online. That would be a very good thing.

Not that I get too many phone calls, of course. IN fact, I almost never get phone calls. No worries there. I'm not really all that interested in talking on the phone. I'm not a big phone person.

I still have to get my comp fixed. I haven't taken the beast in to the comp guy. Though I figure he'd be able to fix it within about ten minutes. He just needs to punch a few keys, I'm sure.

Get the Win 95 to read my secondary hard drive again. Then I"ll actually be able to listen to music while I'm typing up my entries again.

Not that I couldn't before, but I mean, I"ll be able to listen to all the sweet techno, trance and Trans-Siberian Orchestra stuff I DLed last year.

Can you believe it's been almost a year since my secondary hard drive has worked? Obviously I haven't got a whole lot of shit that I need to accmplish. Maybe I don't need a new ten gig hard drive.

*chuckles*

It would be nice to have a larger hard drive though. I would be able to have the entire MS Office software installed, rather than just running the bare minimum so that I've got a decent word processor with spell check.

Of course, obviously, I haven't been using it. (obviously because there are tons of spelling errors)

I have to put together a file of my bitch-outs and take them to the local paper. I want to see if maybe I can get them published. Then I'd have a foot in the door when the publishing company talks to me about the book.

"Have you been published before?"

"Uh, does an online poetry contest count?"

"Excuse me, are you a serious writer, or just trying to jerk me around?"

"Oh, sorry, I didn't know there was an intelligence limit here."



Or something.

Anyway... there aren't any comedic opinion columns in the local paper and I"d like to change that if possible.

Of course, our local paper seems to be going downhill.

Just in the past year, our local paper had a big, huge building built about twice the size of their previous. They moved into it and loved the big building... but then the cost of the paper went up by half and the newspaper folks have recently moved out of half their building and have it up for rent.

I should check in to that and see if... Hmmmm... it might be... It's just big enough to house a comfy coffee shop. There's parking and such... It could be a nice little place. Go next door, buy a paper, come to my place and have some coffee while you're readin.

Dunno, a coffee shop in Long Beach? That might be a little pretentious.

Of course, we then have the option of writing to some of the fast food joints and asking them to look at Long Beach for opening a store. I"m so tired of crappy mac'n'don's. Of course, I haven't been to Mac'n'Don's for about a year and a half. I just really don't like it at all.



Oh well. I think that's enough prattling and useless, aimless drivle. Perhaps there will be more later.

Peace unto thy hearts.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own