The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

more bitching about pathetic comedy

2001-08-15 - 10:21 p.m.


Well, what is it with the dreams, eh? Had another one this morning. Strange and kinda cryptic. Dunno what it meant, or that it meant anything at all, for that matter.

Regardless, I'm just truckin along. Still avoiding that whole packing thing, but I really do have to get off my ass and DO it tomorrow.

I really have absolutely nothing of importance to say. I do have something to bitch about, but I've bitched about it so many times before...

Again, I'm going to complain about this recent generation of "comedy". If you're tired of hearing me rant about this, then simply skip this entry.

*grins*

Ya ready?



I have seen the previews for the new Wayne Grady Show over this past week. I planned to watch it tonight. It's on ABC at 8:30 Pacific. I was highly disappointed. Very highly.

The show was filled with stupidity. And yet, people were laughing as if they were watching the epitome of hilarity.

I honestly do not understand this.

How can the people of this generation honestly laugh thinking that stupidity is funny? Is there no intelligence left in the world? Are people being reduced to believing.... honestly believing that Dumb and Dumber is truly funny?

Excuse me... but really... What is funny about an idiot getting his tongue stuck to a frozen, metal pole? The last time I looked, the only people who believed that was funny, were those still in the early grades of elementary school.

The fact that this growing generation has been raised on TV and sound bites has become evident in the things that are now "popular".

My friends, please... Can you actually believe that DISCO is making a come back? The people from the late 70's that were into Disco are cringing at the fact that they were into it the first time around. THEY grew up.

Do you people, who are between 14 and 22 actually think that Freddie Got Fingered, Dumb and Dumber, Jack Ass and The Tom Green Show are examples of real comedy?

What happened to those people who were laughing about Dennis Miller's rants? Where are those people who thought Tootsie was funny? What happened to those people who thought Ace Ventura: Pet Detective was almost too stupid to actually pay money to see?

I have no idea where our future is headed, but if the mentality continues to drop, we'll be watching gang-bangers kill each other, thinking THAT is the epitome of hilarity.

I remember watching Pauly Shore and thinking he was funny because of the charichature. He was funny because it wasn't possible for someone to be so foolish and still be alive. BUT, he was "amusing" rather than a true comedian.

What happened to comedy like George Carlin, Ghalliger, Dennis Miller and Robin Williams?

Are we required to laugh at this current batch of "comedians" because they're so pitiful?

Are we really so stupid now? Do we REALLY need another dumb-down show with laugh tracks to let us know when the punch line has been delivered?

When I see shows like The Wayne Grady Show, Tom Green, MAD TV, Jack Ass et al, I am reminded of all those years at summer camp when the kids would write their own skits and put on a variety show. It was pathetic and juvenile when I was 12. It's even more pathetic now.

I'm very disappointed in the "talent" of our comedy writers now-a-days. I've seen too many bad sit-coms. I've seen too many bad "up and coming" stars. I remember when SNL USED to be funny. I remember when some GOOD stars got their start on that show.

Am I expecting too much from modern television, entertainment and movies? Am I expecting someone to have completed their college education by actually getting one?

This new batch of SNL Star wannabes is highly disappointing to me. And if any of you bitch about my spelling, I'll smack ya upside the 'haid'.

But still.. what's with the whole "SuperStar" girl? A catholic school girl who is clumsy, uncoordinated and a dreamer. The "comedy" is when she falls into things... yet another example of people laughing AT someone, rather then because they've said something funny/intelligent/thought provoking.

I suppose that's the whole deal... Comedy has become a place/time for people to laugh at others' foolishness and faults. It has devolved into a pathetic example of what happens when people STOP their education in 3rd grade.

Not that they drop out at grade 3, but that they stop learning at grade 3.

*shrugs*

Same old, same old.

I will turn to intelligent comedy. And I will not listen to, or put up with the pathetic chaff of modern comedic "talent".

The population at large may be interested in Freddie Got Fingered and Road Trip and Fargin Beavis and Butthead. I'll stick to my video tapes of Robin Williams, Billy Crystal, Steven Write, et al. Comedy from a different generation.

My word, I'm obviously 30 now... bitching about the modern generation. Please, pray for my children. They're gonna need all the help they can get.

Until later...



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own