The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Plagerizing the Pilgrims, John Wayne Style?

Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2001 - 6:21 pm


I worked on that hinted-at long-ass entry a little this afternoon. IT's long, trust me. I might just post the first part of it a little later tonight. I'm not sure though.

At the moment, I'm waiting for the bread to be done so I can heat up some stew and have thick, beef stew with fresh, hot, buttered bread. Mmmmm, nummy, nummy, nummy!

I was asked this afternoon, if the recent script for a few of the things on my diary wasn't "pinched" from someone elses. First off, I don't think so. I believe the script was written directly from the class assignment... but that's not the point.

What I want to talk about is this... plagerism. It didn't occur to me until just this afternoon, that stealing script from someone else could well be considered plagerism.

As a person who writes, I know that some people share ideas and concepts. I'll often read someone's work and it will inspire a typing flood of my own. And nine times out of ten, the resulting typing flood is nothing like the original piece which inspired it. But every once in a while, I do come out with a piece quite similar to someone else's work.

I don't consider that plagerism, because I did write it on my own, and I never sit there, typing someone else's work, just transposing into my words. *shakes her head* That's not cool.

But sometimes there are circumstances where your (mine at least) mind will follow the same path as someone else's. That, in my opinion, is not plagerism either. After all, it was inspired by someone else, familiar/influenced by someone else's work, but it was mine, from my head, not transcription and transposition.

so how do we check and double check and tripple check to be sure we're not plagerizing someone else's code? I think that's far more difficult a concept. I think it's far more difficult to police code-theft. After all, you have to use the same words and symbols for many different applications.

I've looked at many different codes for specific things... Perhaps I'm just not geek enough *admits she stopped wearing her geek-in-training wheels* Perhaps I don't understand the true meaning of plagerization.

Perhaps I'm just one of those people who believe that some things SHOULD be public domain and not copy-righted. Perhaps I've been staring at the sculpted, bride and groom cake-top which sits upon my desk (from my own wedding, yes.... You'd be shockingly amazed at how similar the groom looks to Dan S. IT's like being transported back in time 15 years to when I first met him... heh)

====I'm serious, folks, facial shape, coloring, eyes, hair, stature... the way this "groom"s mouth is set is almost an exact replica of Dan S... whoof, erm, anyway ====

Anyway, the main point I was trying to make before I got into discussion on plagerism...

No, the code for the new script was not plagerized. Its conception may have been inspired by someone else, and like in Finding Forrester the first few paragraphs might have been one person's, but the body of the work is someone else's.



And, is there, in that geek-inner-sanctum, some rule/understanding that no one uses someone else's code? I mean, I don't want anyone to get in trouble with their geek-inner-sanctum rules/traditions or something, but... Hey, I'm curious here.

DEV! Help me! Is there really a proprietary right to code and the results of that specific code such as was used on my diary? I don't want to be inadvertantly breaking the rules of my half-heartedly-saught-geek-status.

*grins*

Love and slurps to all.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own