The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

water water everywhere

Sunday, Dec. 16, 2001 - 11:55 pm


WET! It's very, very, very wet!

In four more days I'm going to be asking God some questions. Like, should I have already built the ark?

We've had 36 straight days of rain here. The water table has risen. In the past two days we've had over 15 inches of rain. And there are no signs of slacking either.

Let's try to set the scene, okay?

I stayed up this morning until 6:30am, turning the pump on every hour or so to avoid flooding the house. *chuckles* I figured the tide would go out, thus reducing risk of flooding.

I woke up at 9am to the sound of a splash as the dog jumped off the bed. This is not normal.

I blearily sat up, looked at my floor and in a rather loud voice said, and I quote, "Fuck".

There was standing water in my room. Two inches thereof.

I slowly went sloshing into the front room of my "suite" and turned the pump on. The water had risen quite a bit more than I thought it would.

As I walked through the house here, I noticed two inches of standing water on the bathroom floor, about half an inch in the kitchen, three inches in the storage area under the stairs, four inches in the garage and the rec room carpet was soaked.

So, three hours and several choruses of "Fuck, Fuck, Fuck, Fuck, Fuck" later, I was crying as I dumped yet another bucket of water from the carpet cleaner (the only wet vac we have) and nearly fell to my knees. There is nothing so frustrating as having the inside of the house more wet than the outside, then being completely incapable of truly cleaning up the mess.

I have thrown away quite a few boxes of shit which were still not unpacked from the move, but are now waterlogged. I must have vacuumed at least 50 gallons of water from the rec room and that hasn't even actually accomplished anything but reduce the standing water.

*sighs*

The pump has been on all damned day long. When the power went out (it was out for about an hour) the water rose so far that when I opened my door, water chose to pay a visit.

Right now, my carpet is still waterlogged. I have most of the boxes off the floor though. Tomorrow I have to take down my bed so that I can get up the water under it.

The cleaning lady is coming tomorrow to help me. *shrugs* I haven't the foggiest idea what kind of help she can be. I have no idea what I'm going to do, but I figure I'll play it by ear.

So, you ask me what I'm doing awake at midnight after having only two and a half hours of sleep? I'm too fucking cold and wet to sleep. *sighs*

Anyway... I just wanted to give you a little taste of life here.

I always wanted a house boat, but I sorta thought I'd have the boat part before the water part. Guess not.

Peace unto thy hearts, all



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own