The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Some Erudite Rambling?

Thursday, Apr. 18, 2002 - 9:37 am


You know, this whole getting up in the morning thing is really funny. Heh, what an opening sentence, eh?

But really, it's so strange to me. I have spent so much of my recent life being a night owl, staying up until two and three, sometimes as late (or early) as five in the morning, then finally going to bed. I have enjoyed such hours. However, now that I've been getting up at 7 or so every morning since... well... October, I'm seeing new things.

Like, I get tired by midnight, sometimes as early as ten at night. This is a new instance for me. I'm used to my late nights and later mornings. *chuckles*

I wonder, sometimes, if there's something to the comments that the natural construction of the body is to rest at night and be awake during the day. *shrugs* Dunno.

Anyway, I've noticed myself acting very old lately. Mentality wise. People get on my nerves more often now. It's not an out-and-out anger thing, it's just a mild frustration at the juvinile behavior of other people.

Some people would call this a superiority complex. *chuckles* Couldn't be. *grins* But still, I'll be walking down the street and see some kids just doing kid stuff and it occurs to me that their behavior is quite juvinile.

Now, the thing I actually am commenting on is not my own redundant status, nor the behavior, but the realization that nothing has changed about my perception. I used to feel that way when I WAS a child. I used to look down on those people I attended school with for behaving like children. *laughs at herself*

I suppose I have changed, perhaps that was too strong a statement. But, the perception hasn't changed. I still think it's juvinile behavior and thus petty and immature. My tollerance level is higher though. I can put up with the juvinile behavior. And, once in a while I'll join in.

For instance...

I was at Chuck's on Tuesday, just sitting there and writing, doing my thing. Josh (the cook, about 28 or so) was wadding up tiny bits of napkin/paper towel/whatever, and was tossing them over the back of the booth at me. While this was going on, I was laughing. I saw it from a bird's eye view, so to speak, and watched this scene play out. Such a juvinile activity.

I remembered a similar instance where I was the focus of incoming (and harmless) projectiles when I was about 13 or so. At that time, I was frustrated and irritable because someone was 1.) being wasteful, 2.) attempting to disrupt my work, and 3.) behaving in a juvinile and pedantic manner.

Tuesday, I still thought it was juvinile, pedantic, disrupting and wasteful, but I also thought it was cute and funny. Have I come so far in my development that I can recognize the value of certain immature behaviors or have I remained in stasis?

Heh.

I remember a story my Mom tells me about being six years old. I was in the church building either after or before services, I don't remember which. Anyway, some gentleman asked me where I got my red hair. And, in all honesty I answered him correctly.

"...from my maternal grandfather's side." Heh. A six year old is not supposed to be using such big words.

While she was in labor with me, my Mother was reading a "big" book. I don't remember the exact title, but it's something like Alexander and Helena. She said she was reading that in the hopes that it would make me more erudite.

I think it would have been better for her to be reading something with words which are easier to spell. *grins*

Dunno. I've been a grandma since I was a child. Commanding in a polite way. But I've always known what I wanted and stated such succinctly and in such a way that I brooked no arguement. Heh. Dunno. Am I growing up, or am I growing into the person I've always been?

There are those who believe that a person is, at 60, exactly what they were in third grade. So, I challenge you to find your third-grade report cards and find out if you're still like that. What were the comments your teachers made about you? Are they still true today?

Mine said I was messy and had trouble concentrating on things I didn't want to do. It also said that though I was polite, I didn't socialize very well with the children in my class.

Heh. I still don't socialize well with people my own age. I still seem to think of most people in this immediate area as pedantic and immature.

I get along with them better now, though.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own