The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Weird Relationship Stuff

Friday, Apr. 26, 2002 - 5:34 am


I find it interesting that of the three songs which were integral parts of our relationship (that of my Marriage to Duncan) one was about cheating, one was about failed relationships and one was about ex wives.

The night Duncan and I met (at a Karaoke bar, no less), he dedicated a song to me. All My EXes Live In Texas. (in case you don't know, this is a song about how one man can't go back to Texas, the state he loves, because all his ex wives live there) Yes, alarm bells went off and as I was watching him, I rolled my eyes. He, of course, was so damned drunk, he didn't notice my disaproval of his specific choice.

Later that night, while we were talking about our lives (no kissing, no hugging, no holding, just conversation) A song with a soft, lilting, melodic guitar line lit up the radio. We both paused in our words and listened to the whole thing.

Once the song was over, we each said how much we liked that song, that it was beautiful to listen to and the music was really great. *chuckles quietly*

It was about a man coming home from work early to find his wife sleeping with someone else in their bed. The story goes on with both parties realizing that their marriage is worth more than her cheating. (this couple had been married at least 20 years as their children both were off to college)

The third and final mockery of our marrital choices was the first song we ever danced to; and the only song we ever danced to more than once. Heh.

The Dance is a song about a failed relationship and how even if the guy had known the relationship was doomed, he would have done it anyway because even though the song ends, the actual dance was worth it. *chuckles*

It's so interesting to me that all three songs were favorites of ours and all three songs intimate broken/failed relationships. *chuckles, shaking her head*

I think that the next time around, I'll be a little more cautious of both the relationship and the music I listen to while in the budding stages of the relationship. I also will not, under any circumstances, get into a relationship with someone whom I meet in February. I won't start a relationship in February either. Bad news, babe.

Tootles folks.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own