The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Algebra Sucks

Sunday, Jul. 14, 2002 - 10:05 pm


Okay... I have absolutely no desire to write tonight. none whatsoever. In fact, my true desire is to sit back on my arse and veg. However, I promised myself I would write something. So... um.

Something.



The other day, Charles and I were having a brief conversation. One of the things he told me about was the bonus algebra question he put on the final (maybe it was midterm, I don�t remember) for his Auto-Cad students. I�d like to share a little of that convo with you.

I haven�t asked for Charles permission to post this, but I don�t think he would mind too much. I�m hoping not. Right now I�m too lazy to ask. So, um, if I suddenly disappear, it�s because Charles got irritated that I put his momentous words here without his permission. Heh. Yeah, right.

Charles: You havent seen the bonus question on my algebra test

burnttiger: *shudders*

Charles: Let me se if I can remember how I worded it

burnttiger: *gets ready to cringe* I never was very keen on any of the maths. I got lost easily. Never actually made it through even the community college level of algebra.

Charles: Chloe is returning from a vacation in Buenos Aires. She boards a flight to New York City at 8:00 am CST. The flight is 5,297 miles long. Upon arriving in NYC, Chloe has a 2 hour and 45 minute layover while Delta explains how her luggage ended up in Barstow CA.

Charles: She then flies home to Chicago, 713 miles away. At noon CST, Chloe orders Chicken Teriyaki. If hte average airspeed of an airliner is 550 miles per hour, where does Chloe have lunch?

burnttiger: *looks at you*

burnttiger: My answer to that? At a Chinese restaraunt.

Charles: Teriyaki is Japanese

burnttiger: *nods* And this is why I suck at algebra.

burnttiger: *laughs brightly*

Charles: LOL

burnttiger: *grins big*

Charles: makes a twisted kind of sense

Charles: The bonus question is really easy though

burnttiger: Oh? How bout saying she had lunch on the plane.

Charles: That is the answer

burnttiger: *dances and stuff*

Charles: The flight to new york was over 9 hours long, she was on the plane at noon

Charles: Yay Jenn!




WOOHOO, I answered the question right!!! I�m so cool. *smirks*

Okay, I�m logging off for the time being. I might write more later, who knows?



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own