The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

response part 3

Wednesday, Aug. 07, 2002 - 2:37 am


Heh.

I believe that when you state that Tongues is a gift of the Spirit but it is not a different language, per se. You state that speaking in Tongues is actually being understood in someone else�s language. Am I reading that correctly? Do you believe that speaking in Tongues is actually speaking your own language but being understood by people who don�t?

Your words also imply that this gift only happens (the ability of others to understand your language when they don�t know it) only when you are witnessing about Jesus. Do you really believe that?

You cite an example of some Middle Eastern man saying �please pass the salt� repeatedly and being �translated� by a pastor. You stated that the pastor interpreted the phrase as something of great religious import. I agree that there are some churches where they may well do things of that sort.

As I said before, I have listened to some people who speak in �Tongues� but who don�t seem to be saying anything. My Father�s description of the �Iwannahondanotasubaru� is the same thing. There are definitely some people out there who think that babbling is speaking in tongues. However, those people, those whom you seem to have witnessed time and time again, are the whole reason Paul wrote what he did in I Corinthians 14. Because the babbling shifts the focus from God to a human doing magic tricks.

Also, keep in mind, (regarding your description of the dude jumping up to interpret Tongues and discover that it was a phrase inspired by the evil one) the whole point of Paul�s letter was to dissuade the Corinthians from �showing off� by using Tongues. (this is my opinion, anyway)

Again, I have heard a few different people speaking in Tongues. Some, I would have bet were faking it. Some, I would have bet, were being used by something other than the Holy Spirit. But some, a few, were honestly and truthfully speaking in Tongues the way God intended.

I also want to mention here that the story you relate about the evil one�s phrase doesn�t surprise me at all. The evil one has successfully fooled people into believing in him many times. It doesn�t surprise me in the least that he infiltrates churches. Especially when the church body is more impressed by the pastor and physicality than God.



I�m not getting into a discussion on just who/what is the Mystery Church or the great Babylon. I don�t have the energy right now. Besides, I would have to study into it and at this present moment in time, I have too much other studying to do. Eventually I will get around to this topic.

I do have a problem with saying that the entire charismatic movement is wrong or evil or to be judged poorly simply because I am not a part of that movement, I have never been a part of that �movement� and I don�t know where they are coming from.

I know this much. God told me not to judge someone else. Therefore, what works for them is their business. I don�t have to do what they do. I don�t have to agree with their methods, style, beliefs et al. But I don�t have to condemn them either.

So, if you believe that the Catholics and Charismatic churches comprise Babylon, more power to ya. It is not my place to tell you otherwise. I don�t choose to make a judgment on that because, well, I�m not a judge. God did appoint judges. And there is need for those who know what�s going on and who is who. That�s not my job. I�m just a singer.



I do want to comment on one last thing. You stated that you are assured of your salvation due to your obedience to God. I suggest this: Perhaps we who are saved, are assured of salvation solely through the Grace of God. I personally don�t think obedience could ever assure us of salvation. If obedience could do such, then why did Jesus have to become the Christ? Why would He have had to be sacrificed?

That�s just something that is �curious� to me. I�ve heard many people talk of obedience being their assurance. I�ve just never felt that way. *shrugs*



Anyway, I�m wiped out. I need to post this (after running spell check, of course) and get on with that going to sleep stuff. I�m a tired puppy and I�ve pummeled my brain enough tonight.

So, soon I�ll be able to get to the entries which I have been puzzling over in my brain. I just haven�t, for the life of me, found a way to communicate what I need to. Perhaps I can spend a few hours working on that tomorrow. Between shoveling out my room, grooming my dog and making some kind of food thing for dinner. Who knows, maybe I�ll even have to work tomorrow. I kinda doubt it, but I don�t know for sure.

Until next time, folkses...

Peace unto thy hearts.

J



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own