The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Irritations

Thursday, Aug. 08, 2002 - 4:36 am


I have something I�d like to say. Isn�t that the way it always goes? Heh.

Anyway, I�m currently listening to the duet Baptism by Kenny Chesney and Randy Travis. This is a song that really hits me kind of hard. I really like it, but the first few times I heard it, I cried. If I actually take the time to just shut out everything else and listen to the words, I cry. It moves me that much.

Anyway, let me type out the words to the best of my ability...

The summer breeze made ripples on the pond
rattled through the reeds and the willow trees beyond
Daddy in his good hat Mamma in her Sunday dress
watched with pride as I stood there in the water up to my chest

And the preacher spoke about the cleansing blood
and I sank my toes in through that east Tennessee mud

And it was down with the old man
up with the new
raised to walk in the way
of light and truth
I didn�t see no angels
just a few saints on the shore
but I felt like a newborn baby
cradled up in the arms of the Lord

Amazing grace oh how sweet the sound
there was glory in the air there was dinner on the ground
and my sins which were many were washed away and gone
along with a buffalo nickel I forgot to leave at home

but that seemed like such a small small price to pay
for the blessed peace of mind that came to me that day

and it was down with the old man
up with the new
raised to walk in the way
of light and truth
I didn�t see no angels
just a few saints on the shore
but I felt like a newborn baby
cradled up in the arms of the Lord

this road is long and dusty
sometimes the soul it must be cleansed
and I long to feel that water
rushin over me again

down with the old man
up with the new
raised to walk in the ways
of light and truth
I didn�t see no angels
just a few saints on the shore
but I felt like a newborn baby
cradled up in the arms of the Lord

I felt like a newborn baby
cradled up in the arms of the Lord.



As I listen to that song, I think about the many times I have received forgiveness for the wrongs I�ve committed. I also think about those people who have lived �sinful� lives but have asked for (and received) forgiveness for what they believe they did wrong. There�s such a sense of freedom which comes over a person in that situation.

I also think about those people who believe that because they have read the Bible in whole or in part, they have the right to tell other people that they�re living wrong or that they aren�t living like �real� Christians.

I think about this because there is a man who usually attends services at our house. Lately, he�s been extremely despondent, feeling guilty, feeling like a �sinner� because some of his old friends (from a previous church) showed up at his house and told him he wasn�t being a good Christian.

I�m not blaming these people for judging or anything of that sort. But, their actions and my friend�s reaction to said actions have given me reason to think about my own conversation.

My friend is really, really upset about the accusations made by these people. He feels depressed, despondent and worthless. He feels like he�s letting God down somehow. He is also feeling as if he weren�t worth showing up at services.



The thing that really pisses me off about this? He�s a great man. Sure, he, like everyone in this world, has characteristics I don�t particularly care for. BUT, he�s a great man. He is kind and generous and will listen to what you have to say, rather than just tuning you out. He pays attention. He questions almost everything (that�s a trait that both irritates me sometimes and (usually) really impresses me).

He has valid points and really adds a lot to services. I miss it when he�s not there.

I also feel really irritated. I�m pissed off that someone could be so... destroyed.

I�ve had this happen to me before. I�ve had people tell me that I am not being good enough as a Christian. I�ve had people complain and whine about how I�m not Godly enough. Lately, I�ve learned how to deal with that. When people criticize my Christianity, I know how to handle it. It doesn�t depress me anymore. It doesn�t confuse me or upset me for long enough to matter. (for instance, I can be depressed and upset about it for half an hour, but it doesn�t actually last)

My friend, however, has been really hurt by this accusation of not being good enough for God. And that�s completely ridiculous. How can anyone say that one person isn�t good enough for God? Are they that person? Uh uh.

The only ones qualified to tell you whether or not you�re good enough as a Christian are God and Jesus. That�s it. No human whether they�re preacher, pastor, nun, teacher or parent, has the right to tell you you�re not good enough.

I remember a story I read through Email once. I looked it up using Google and found it. This is the link...

www.Christian-thinktank.com/cards.html

If you have ever doubted your Christianity... if you have ever felt that you�re not good enough, read that story. It will bring tears to your eyes most probably.

*sighs*

I don�t know. I think that what I�m going to do is print out that story and give it to my friend. So he may have done some things he believes are wrong. So what? Jesus forgives. Instantly.

No one ever has the right to tell you you�re not good enough as a Christian or otherwise. If you�re not �good enough� to be their specific kind of Christian, find another group to hang out with.

And remember that your words, whether spoken in kindness or not, can hurt very, very deeply. Hell, My own diary is proof of that. I can�t count the number of people I�ve ticked off simply by saying something the wrong way.

This is not a new problem.



Anyway, on a lighter note (heh, pun definitely intended) check out this.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own