The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Music and "Ice From the Sky"

2000-05-10 - 13:46:39


He is everything you want, he is everything you need, he is everything inside of you that you wish you could be. He says all the right things, at exactly the right time, but he means nothing to you and you don't know why.

And you'll just sit tight and watch it all unwind...

And I am everything you want, I am everything you need, I am everything inside of you that you wish you could be. I say all the right things, at exactly the right time, but I mean nothing to you and I don't know why. Don't know why...

Hot damn, I love those lyrics. Verticle Horizon is the band that sings that song. Everything is the name of the song. It just kicks much ass.

A friend of mine and I were discussing music and why it has become such an integral part of life for so many. Think about it. There are very few people out there who don't like music in any of its forms.

I personally feel as if music were my blood. Not just something I would listen to, but something that without which I would cease being alive. And I have proven this to myself on a number of occasions.

Whenever I remain without music in my life... without music in my ears... my life begins to slip out of my grasp. Getting up every day becomes harder and harder. My breath seems to enter and leave my lungs with a reluctance and the consistancy of silt.

I dunno how to do midi's or anything like that, or I'd put music up here on my diary... having showcase tune or some such. The song of the day or something.

I've been singing for years upon years. Composing music and lyrics forever. Hell, I remember being about 7 years old or something, walking home from school with music flowing from my mouth. Composing millions upon millions of songs to be my companions and friends.

Hell, without music as my escape, I'd be one really, really fucked up puppy.

Okay, so for those of you who have met Tiger know that I'm already fuckered up pretty badly. Hell, I've created her past. Her childhood and shit... And that comes from my imagination. Hell, some of the stories I've written... *chuckles*

Anyway... If you want to read the poetry I've written... stories, poems, prose, free-verse, long-winded-bitchouts... The stuff I've written over the past year and a half is posted at this site. And I post some of my new stuff here... of course, since I've been writing my diary, and NOT going to my coffee shop (which is usually where I write most of my stuff) I haven't written anything new for a while.

Ya know?

Without this creative outlet, I would be a pile of mush, sitting here on my bed, day after day, being silent and sulky...

Hell, I know exactly how to do that.

Alright... think about this... Lyrics that have shaped my life and philosophy...

With arms wide open, under the sunlight, welcome to this place, I'll show you everything, with arms wide open, now everything has changed, I'll show you love, I'll show you everything... Creed... With Arms Wide Open

Oh, My love, My darling, I've hungered for your touch, A long, lonely time. And time, goes by, so slowly, and time can do, so much, are you, still mine. I need your love. I need your love. God speed your love, to me. Righteous Brothers... Unchained Melody

Io vorai liberarti domatina, e'vorai moderti volare comme primo... Andrea Bocelli... Rhapsodia

Now I'm ten times richer than my big brother Bob... and he's got a haircut and he's got a real job George Thoroughgood... Haircut

I can feel your body, as I'm lyin in my bed, too much confusion, goin round through my head... and it's makin me so angry, to know the flame still burns... Eric Clapton... Old Love

Anyway... I should probably be jettin out... I've got so many song lyrics tumbling round in my brain... I'll post a song here in just a moment that Preston inspired during one of our Phone conversations.

I wrote the lyrics, he is writing/has written the music for it... Actually, I'll just post it now...


Lyrics from my pen, Music from Sterling'sexquisite mind. Slow blues/jazz style...

Ice From The Sky

There's ice fallin from the sky
My baby's gone, I don' know why
But here I sit with my broken heart
As the world falls down around me

Cause she left me standin all alone
She left me here and took my home
Not even her voice from that cold dead phone
I'm here to think, sleepin on my own

So come to my home an' look aroun'
While heaven's cold tears kiss the groun'
You'll see the signs of my bleedin' heart
As the world falls down around me

A special blend of old Earl Gray
Nuthin but butts in that lone tray
Her dried Spring flowers light the way
To the pain that ends another day

Guitar Solo

On this ol' couch I held her tight
'Neath that ol' blanket through the night
Watched the candleglow, that sweet low light
But New York is too far gone from sight

And there's Ice fallin from the sky -- hold her tight
My baby's gone, I don' know why -- Through the night
But here I sit with my broken heart -- Sweet low light
As the world falls down around me -- Gone from sight
Come in ta my house an' look aroun' -- Standin alone
While heaven's cold tears kiss the groun' -- Took my home
You'll see the signs of my bleedin' heart -- Cold dead phone
As the world falls down around me -- On my own

Guitar Solo

Sax/Bass solo

An' there's tears fallin from the sky -- standin alone
My baby's gone, I don' know why -- took my home
Come to this house 'n' look aroun' -- cold dead phone
Heaven's cold tears kissin the groun' -- on my own

Fade to....

ice from the sky -- on my own
ice from the sky -- on my own
ice from the sky -- too fargone



So, that's it.

Peace unto thy hearts, my friends...

J



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own