The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Questions... Hey, Bioux!

Sunday, Dec. 29, 2002 - 1:52 pm


I have written up about three or four different diary entries, but haven�t transcribed any of them. So, for your viewing pleasure, I�m going through the process of transcription. So there. Don�t say I never did anything for ya.



Written sometime this week, I forget when.

I�ve been studying for my paper and have frequently run across the verses in I Corinthians (14:34) which discuss a woman�s role in the church, or more accurately, that a woman should not speak in the church. I believe it�s verse 35 which states that if a woman has questions, she should talk to her own husband at home rather than bringing up anything at church.

I�ve heard many people explain that away by saying that times have changed and women are no longer second rate possessions; that women are of equal standing now, so that verse doesn�t apply anymore. And yet, I think that the specific verse is, well, rather specific. In my years of religious experience, I haven�t met a single time when something in the Bible wasn�t there for a reason. I�m just not comfortable with saying that that specific verse just simply doesn�t apply to us in this generation.

I�m still curious about it, though. Very curious, actually.

Part of me is frustrated because I feel as if I have been reminded that I have no right to speak in the church. But, part of me agrees, believing that women aren�t supposed to be in positions of leadership in that fashion.

So, Bioux, I ask you, is a woman allowed to speak in the church? By this, I mean, speaking from the pulpit. Is she allowed to preach? I would like your take� and that of anyone else interested in weighing in on the topic.

If I�m not mistaken, Seventh Day Adventists not only allow, but also encourage women to speak� to take a position of leadership. How does that work with 1 Corinthians 14:34?

I look forward to some feedback on this issue.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own