The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

BS 5/12

Monday, Jun. 23, 2003 - 1:04 pm


5 12 03

11:40a

Romans 5:15-23

Being a slave to righteousness� This is such an interesting concept to me. Paul is telling me, here, about the difference between the Law and Grace.

Without relying upon the Grace of God, I am stuck in a slave-like relationship with the physical needs of my body, whether that is a dependency on cigarettes, a specific greed-centered mind set or something equally as controlling. Whereas, reliance upon God�s Grace, His will for my life, I become a slave to His will, His desires for my life.

In one life, the physical, I am a compulsive smoker. I am a compulsive eater. I have become a slave to my comfort zone. I do what is comfortable, thus I don�t do what would make me step out of that comfort zone. And I do this because it gives me the impression of control. It makes me think that I have control over my life and choices.

Let me say this, then.

Do I smoke because I make a conscious choice to take the cigarette out of the box, light it and inhale? Or do I smoke because I would rather do that, than deal with the nervousness and confusion which occur when I don�t smoke?

Maybe I can make this a little more clear this way.

It is my idea/theory that I have choices. That every action, thought and emotion is a choice. I can choose whether or not I breathe; whether or not I sing; whether or not I eat grapes or rice or ice cream; whether or not I eat at all. Yet, if I don�t make those choices a conscious effort � if I don�t choose what to eat or do or think or feel � and I just let feelings, thoughts and actions happen/occur in my life, then I have become a slave to my physical desires, to my body, to human nature.

If, on the other hand, I do make each action, thought and emotion a conscious choice � which requires that I become aware of each and every action, thought and emotion � I am no longer a �slave� to my human nature; I break the habits of my human nature.

Further, if I consciously choose to submit to the Grace of God, living by the Law He placed upon my heart, then His will becomes habit, therefore I become a slave to His will.

Does that make sense?

Oooohh, I love epiphany. *smirks*

Romans 7:1-6

This expounds on what Paul was saying in the previous section. He uses an example, that of marriage, for this purpose. The difference between living under the Law and living under the Grace of God is like that of marriage and the commitment � Until death do us part � which is a part of marriage.

If a person is married, they are bound in that marriage. If their spouse dies, there is no longer a marriage� they are no longer bound to that contract. Likewise, if I am living under the Law, I am bound by it and by the consequences of it. If I flub up, then I am penalized according to the Law. However, if I accept the Grace of God � if I accept Christ�s sacrifice for me � I have died to the Law and am alive in the Grace of God.

This does not mean that I don�t follow the Law anymore, it means that I am not enslaved to it, thus I�m not penalized according to the Law. Being alive in the Grace of God means that I do what God says, I am bound to Him.

God obeys the Law. He commanded it, He wrote it, it is His Law. Following Him � remember the sheep and shepherd analogy from a previous Bible study entry � means that I stay within the Law.

Very cool!

Romans 7:7-25

I want to draw out verse 14 here. Paul says, �We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin.�

This is yet another proof to me that the Law has not been done away� that the Law has not been �nailed to the cross� as many people say, but that the Law is, indeed, to be observed and kept. This means to me that the law is to be observed within God. When we live by Grace, doing what God wants us to do, we are observing the Law.

This whole section is about that whole habit vs. conscious choice thing. Until I consciously turn every choice over to God, doing what He wants me to do, I am stuck in the habitual action of bodily desires; the comfort zone. When I consciously choose to make my comfort zone God, I am no longer hindered by the physical.

Yay God!



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own