The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

plugging the club...

2000-05-24 - 02:41:38


Plugs, plugs and more plugs... on top of that... a new club.

There are probably a lot of you who don't really care all that much about the hits... you don't care if no one reads your stuff, your goal is just to express your mind and you don't want anyone to know about your diary or what you write.

If that's you... Just skip today's entry. Or at least this part of it.

I've initiated a new club. The only restriction is that you have to have a Diaryland diary. Follow the link below (click on the ribbon .gif) and join the club. Add your diary URL to the "links" page. Add pics, send messages, have some conversation for all the RAWKin Diarylanders... we can even have our very own chatroom in Yahoo Chat.

Check it out, Join, and get more hits. I am a confirmed hit hound, so ya know I gotta do it. And I gotta make a big deal out of it too. Once you've signed up, put up the following .gif and let's par-tay.

Just click on that image and it will take you to the front page of the club. If you don't have a Diaryland diary yet, get one here. Then, sign up for the club.

Um, other news? I was sitting in my coffee shop... well, not MINE, but the one I frequent all the time... and I was reading for a while. They kind of frown on that sort of thing... I go in, drink a few cups of coffee, smoke a few cigarettes... I write a while, pay for my stuff and jet on out.

In the year or so I've been keeping up with this habit, I've seen a lot of different waitstaff. Along the way, I've seen how this waitstaff is treated as well.

See, there are "eating" crowds and "coffee" crowds. The coffee crowd comes in in shifts, about one person every half hour or so, and they sit at the counter, or occupy a couple tables in the smoking section... They order coffee (.75c a cup), sit there for about an hour or so, then jet on out... after using 3/4 of a jar of sugar, 8 creamers and leaving a 10 cent tip.

Cmon, folks WTF? When did they pass the law that if you go into the same place every day for coffee, you have to leave the most pathetic tip? It's not like the waitstaff work any less for the coffee crowd. In fact, the waitstaff work HARDER for the coffee crowd than the others.

Immagine it... In an hour, you'll visit a dinner table probably five times... if that. The coffee tables? Every seven minutes. More leg work, more walking, more effort, shitty tip.

I"ve never been a waitress, so I can't say that's my reason for bitching about those who leave shitty tips... but cmon, I've been served by good waitstaff and bad. By the bad waitstaff, you leave a token tip... 8 to 10% of the check. For decent waitstaff, aproximately 12 to 15% of the check.

For excellent waitstaff/friends, 20 to 50% tip. I mean that. I've gotten excellent service in places I frequent, not because I'm a good customer, but because I'm a good tipper. Usually for coffee, I leave a buck tip. For a burger, it comes to about 3 buck tip. For large groups, and I mean a 150 to 200 buck check... It's usually about a 75 buck tip. Of course, that was when I had money. *chuckles*

Man it's been a long time since I've had that feeling. *chuckles* But, down here at the beach, if you're spending 200 bucks on dinner, you're feeding at least 6 people. Unlike some of the places in Seattle.

.............. the side note that strikes. The plan I've had... I want to take my husband out to dinner... (when I get a husband) Of course, I"m saving for this now. *chuckles* I want a limo to the "restaurant", from here. *chuckles* So, that means, a four and a half hour limo ride. One way. Figure in about 500 bucks for the night for the limo. That's a real, low-end estimation, too. Then, about 80 to 130 bucks PER PERSON for dinner... That's sans drinks. Then, the night in Seattle, either at the Four Seasons, or the Windam... probably 550 for the room I'd like... if not more. And, of course, breakfast the next morning.

Just figure the night will add up to about 1200 to 1400 for the night. It's worth it in my opinion. Dinner at the top of the Space Needle. Spending a night in the most posh of Seattle's hotels...

Damn, that would just be so very cool. Of course, I have to find the bodyfriend, get engaged, and then get married. All in time, tho. My husband will make himself known to me in the very near future.

It's just a feeling I have. I wonder if I should hire a sky writer... *smirks* naw, that would only garner me a pilot, and tho I love flying, I don't like fast kisses and the breeze would just ruin my hair. *smirks*

Anyway... I'm tired, and I have work to do on my business site before I sleep.

Be well, friends. And know that I really do care. I may not know you, but I do care about you. Believe it or don't as is your desire.

Peace, love and contentment...

J



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own