The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Cops and such

2000-05-23 - 03:39:50


Alright... The Tiger's on the warpath.

There are many, many people out there who bitch about cops, who complain that cops are always in the way, never there when ya need them, always there when you don't, problematic instigators...

To those of you who think cops are the plague and we should get rid of them...

Get off my fuckin planet!!!

I was drivin home today... imagine the route... Pacific Hiway, one Northbound lane, one Southbound lane... Speed limit is 50 mph... There's a 2 foot shoulder, with a 3 foot expanse between the shoulder and the ditch (that means, five feet of room between the white line and "accident-ville")...

There's traffic in front of me going Southbound, a short motor home (RV) going Northbound. Behind the motor home is a line of cars in the process of pulling over, stopping and pulling back onto the Northbound lane...

Because, there's a cop, lights flashing, pulling up fast on this motor home. As I'm in the "opposite" lane, I pull over onto the shoulder and get stopped and I'm glaring at the driver of this motor home because he STILL hasn't pulled over. He hasn't stopped, he hasn't even edged away from the yellow line.

but ya know what? he did help by SLOWING DOWN!!!

The motherfucker actually slowed down for this cop who's right behind him. It got to the point where the cop had to just go around the motor home. Clearing my car by less than six inches.

All because the motherfucking motor home wouldn't even pull over a little bit. He did slow down, to about 20 mph. That will help a cop in an emergency situation.

Think about it this way...

When you make a cop reduce his speed so drasticly and block his progress forward, said cop might get to his destination a minute or two too late. That may not seem like much to you... but think about it, folks...

A minute or two too late is enough time to watch the car explode with the victim inside it. A minute or two is enough time to see the drunk standing over his now-dead wife. A minute or two is enough time to see the child's bicycle helmet spinning (seemingly eternally) upon the pavement, the child's body mangled, because no one was there to stop the speeding truck.

A minute or two is just enough time to call the coroner when the drunk driver plows into the front porch. It's enough time to watch the jumper's blood pool around his broken body. Enough time to feel the guilt of having been too late.

A minute or two too late is enough time to make a cop rethink the decision to enter a career where he/she saves people's lives... where he/she keeps peace... where he/she puts themself in the line of fire... where he/she is blamed for every failure, cursed for every mishap and deemed the plague to all...

For, on average, $35,000 a year.

Cmon folks... this is a really big deal.

A lot of folks think that being a janitor is a truly thankless job. *shakes her head* Nope... You don't have to dodge bullets from the vacuum cleaner.

Perhaps being on the ground's crew at some park... Nope, I don't remember any reports of the garden hose resisting arrest and holding anyone hostage.

Maybe being a fry cook at the local Mac'n'Don's... Nope, not that one either... the hot greese is nasty, but it doesn't fly into a drunken rage and beat the "fry guy".



I don't like being pulled over by the cops any more than anyone else. I hate it. I get nervous, and my heart starts thumping as if it were the bass line from "ONE" by Metallica (by the by, Lars Ulrich just fuckin RAWKS). My hands start to shake and my brain explodes with a million possibilities for why I would be pulled over...

Perhaps I was going two miles over the speed limit (my average is a fluctuation of three mph +/-)

Perhaps my tail light is out

Did I remember to put the liscense tabs on this year

Did I remember to wipe the fingerprints off the bloody butcher-knife...

Well, okay, so I haven't EVER thought of that last one... but you get the point. I'm not keen on being pulled over by the cops. BUT, I do support the cops. I have the uttmost respect for the cops around here. I have the uttmost respect for cops everywhere.

I have a friend. He's very important to me. I almost didn't meet him. He was playin football with some friends of his and there was a slight mishap. This mishap led to a catatonic state and complete paralysis.

He's alive now because a cop breathed for him. The rumor is that my friend would have died if the cop had been two minutes later than he was.

Two minutes makes a lot of difference.

The next time you're driving down the road... Keep your eyes shifting between the road and your rear-view mirrors. Watch what's going on around you, folks. If there's a cop behind you, pull the fuck over. 9 times out of 10, they're just tryin to get by you to answer a 911 call.

Til next time...




I do have a few plugs I want to send out...

Charles has chosen to answer more of my questions. Check out the answers. And, ask your own on his message board. Let's make him SWEAT bay bay. *smirks* Oh, and check out his character's diary too... It's extremely well-written in my opinion... The Forvalaka

Addiction doth make the heart grow fonder... or something. Please, check out the sexy man of the year. Please, you have to start reading him and Emailing him, specifically. He Rawks.

Melissa brings her thoughts and ideas to the screen with humor and an interesting perspective. She's well worth your effort to read. Also, check out her character's diary... Carrisa.

Jessica is a woman of intricate mind and many complexities. But her outstanding quality is her love of horses... Or maybe that's mine... Regardless, she's way cool and I promote her words.

Read this. A great author and great RPer I've had the privilage to watch. He brings class and skill to his game.

Louis -- Rizzn -- Monstre -- Tiger -- LoneRanger -- Uncle Bob -- Malkie-poo -- Marn -- Joker -- Gunny -- Jade Ice

And this is the end of today's bitching, writing, plugging and the like. Peace unto thy hearts.

May your every positive dream come true.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own