The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

BS 6/27

Friday, Jun. 27, 2003 - 7:36 am


6 27 03

7a

Philippians 2:1-18

In verses 1 through 11 Paul says that if we get encouragement, fellowship or tenderness from being united with Jesus, then we should make the joy complete by being like Him in every regard. Since Jesus submitted Himself completely to God�s will, becoming a servant, God exalted Him, making Him above all else.

Paul exhorts us to be exactly like Jesus, to ignore our human desires and subject ourselves completely to His will.

In verses 12 through 18, Paul continues by telling the Philippians (and us) to continue being submissive to God and His will so that we can share in the glory He has prepared for us.

We are to desire God�s will before our own. Easy, right? Heh. Not always.

Some of us (read, �me�) are far more interested in our own comfort. I find it a thing of simplicity to say I believe in and on, and worship God when it doesn�t go against my comfort zone. But that whole being in submission thing� the total submission thing� that gets me every time.

It is so much easier for me to pretend that I don�t know what God wants me to do, than to do it. Maybe not every time, but often enough that I can tell when I�m ignoring God�s will. Perhaps it�s a partial narcissistic nature� perhaps it�s just laziness� perhaps it�s simply the strings of immaturity, but often I find myself simply unwilling to do what I know God wants me to do.

I blame my failure to yield on habit and sub-conscious behavior patterns, but the reality of it all is that I simply don�t want to make the right decisions. I don�t want to break out of the comfort zone� doing the same thing I�ve always done.

I�ll straighten up and fly right soon, honest. I promise. I always do it the right way eventually. I just have to use up all the excuses before I can capitulate, I think. I know what�s right and I know what works and I also know that eventually I�ll do it that way. I know that once I�ve done it the right way, I�ll roll my eyes at how long it took me to acquiesce when I knew it was the right thing to do anyway.

At least I have a patient God who allows me my own brand of rebellion. He�ll let me tilt at windmills as long as I want to, shaking His head in a combination of dark humor and exasperation, but He�ll still let me be the recalcitrant troll I can often be, and He�ll welcome me into His arms with joy and thanksgiving when I finally capitulate.

He knows I�ll eventually do it His way. I just need to start doing it His way sooner.

I will. Soon.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own