The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Bible Study 8/6/03

Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003 - 8:45 am


8 6 03

8a

I Corinthians 3

This chapter has Paul writing to the Corinthians to tell them they�re not quite doing it right. The Corinthians were bickering amongst themselves about who they would follow; some choosing to follow Paul�s instructions and some choosing to follow Apollos� instructions. Paul seems to be communicating that neither of them are worth following; that they are just the servants for God.

He makes the comparison, in verse 9, of the church in Corinth being a field, or a building. He likens himself and Apollos to the workers of the field with God as the head. God owns the field, the building. Paul goes on to use the building analogy in the next passage (vs 10-15) saying that he laid a foundation, by the grace of God, as an expert builder.

One thing I think is important to point out is that Paul was not saying his contribution was worthless. Paul was not possessed of false humility, and he was not saying that he didn�t have anything to do with the church. Paul was telling the Corinthians that he was an expert builder; that he had laid the foundation, by the grace of God, with an expert touch. He knew what he was doing.

This is important to me because I�ve long thought that to be an effective tool for God, one had to relinquish all �ownership� of the project. That�s not too clear� I mean that I thought I had to say I didn�t do anything, that God did all the work and all I did was ride along. But that�s not the example Paul sets up here.

Yes, in my opinion, Paul was a humble man. However, he did not devalue his effort. He gave God the glory in the statement �by the grace of God� but he also took some responsibility, some of the �praise� in the statement �I laid a foundation as an expert builder�. In the very next sentence, though, Paul warns about getting too big a head. He says that no one can truly lay a foundation except through Jesus because He is the foundation� the only foundation.

Hmmm� I�m late for work, so I�m going to go, but this is food for thought, or at least, for my future discussion�

Verse 17, �If anyone destroys God�s temple, God will destroy him; for God�s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.�

I need to do some in-depth study of this in regard to my Dad. He and I need to come to terms here cause I think that past situations may well have damaged him� Too long and drawn out to go into now, but I need to put some thought into this� I must induce a long entry.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own