The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Songs and SPTG

2000-08-25 - 02:31:23


Hello all,

It's been a long day, slaving away at the keyboard, as if I were chained to it. *chuckles* And it's such sweet slavery.

I've been listening to Toad the Wet Sprocket for about six hours or so. One specific song, repeated almost constantly. *chuckles* I don't do that too often, but today it just seemed.... I don't know.... right.

I Will Not Take These Things for Granted is the song.

*smiles softly* It's just.... dunno... perfect.

And, these are the lyrics (you knew that was gonna happen didn't you?)

I Will Not Take These Things for Granted by Toad the Wet Sprocket

One part of me just wants to tell you everything... one part just needs the quiet.... and if I'm lonely here, I'm lonely here... and on the telephone, you offer reasurance.

I will not take these things for granted.
I will not take these things for granted.

How can I hold the part of me, that only you can carry... It needs a strength I haven't found... But if it's frightening, I'll bear the cold... And on the telephone, you offer warm asylum.

I'm listening to flowers in the garden... laughter in the hall... children in the park.

I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things... anymore

To crawl inside the wire, feel something near me... To feel this accepting... abd it is lonely here, but not alone. And on the telephone, you offer visions dancing.

I'm listening, to music in the bedroom... laughter in the hall... dive into the ocean... singing by the fire... running through the forrest... standing in the wind... and rolling canyons

I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things for granted
I will not take these things... anymore

I will not take these things for granted... flowers in the garden
I will not take these things for granted... laughter in the hall
I will not take these things for granted... child's play
I will not take these things for granted... dive into the ocean
I will not take these things for granted... standing in the wind
I will not take these things for granted... rolling canyons

And, then, there's the song that preceeds that one...

Stories I Tell also by Toad

Don't give me answers or I will difuse
Yes is a word for which I have no use
I wasn't looking for heaven or hell
Just someone to listen to stories I tell

What is a blessing, what is the truth
caught between portraits and none's what it seems
why is it some would expect there's a change
when I feel I'm a part of something I can not see
And I feel the same

Don't offer questions, or I will retreat
Fame is a cancer and ego it's seed
And I wasn't looking for heaven or hell
Just someone to listen to stories I tell

Do we ever wonder
Did you ever care

Stories I tell
Stories I tell
Stories
I tell

Subtle salvation in poems and prose
hiding our heads in some shadow of home
and I wasn't looking for wreaths or for bells
just someone to listen to stories I tell

stories I tell
stories I tell
stories

stories I tell
stories I tell
stories I tell
stories I tell




Anyway, I just really, really like those two songs, and I've been listening to both of them repeatedly. But mostly Granted.

I think about the words. It just.... *shrugs* It really gets to me. Especially today.

*chuckles quietly*

I think it's the perfect song for long-distance relationships, don't you??? *chuckles softly*

Oh, both selections are available via Napster

Um. So there.



I set up a new message board. It's linked over there on the left. It's called, Solving Problems Through God.

About four years ago or so, I started putting out a newsletter, once a month, with that title. It was primarily directed toward women, as I'm female and tend to write more for the female (lots and lots and lots of words. Most males get really bored with lots of words), however, it is not exclusively for women.

I would love to know if there are any of you out there who would be interested in sharing your experiences with God. How He has answered your prayers. Questions you have about specific Biblical issues/scriptures. Suggestions for giving to charities and the like.

So, over the next few weeks, check out that message board. Perhaps there are questions you have that you would like to throw out to the general population.

I'm not going to keep it only for this diary. I'm going to "advertise" that message board. And I fully intend to get my site up and running, the Solving Problems Through God site. I've been putting it off and putting it off for too long. I am just being instructed to put my effort into that again. So, that's what I"m going to do. *chuckles*

But, thank you for your time. I know I advertise a lot of different things on this site every once in a while. Hey, you could probably flip through the entries (naw, there are too many) and see a world of different personas. *chuckles*




Alright, folks. I'd really appreciate it if you would check out these two fairly new diaries. I really enjoy them. And they, like me, are verbose at times....

Flatline and Mangoes.

Well, that's it for tonight, folks. I have popcorn for messages. *chuckles* With Yahell Pager, the little indicator lights up when you have a message. Well... I've got a couple people I'm talking to, and the conversations are getting a little faster, so the indicator lights are blinking in rappid succession. *grins* It's like popcorn.

Have a great night, folks.

Peace unto thy hearts.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own