The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

About BOC

2000-08-31 - 17:55:33


Well folks, Hello again and good day..

I'm sitting here in my room, listening to some good Blue Oyster Cult. And I want to say one thing...

DAMN!!!

*chuckles quietly*

Let me tell you the adventure of getting the song I just finished listening to. Perfect Water. It's all Charles fault. He told me about the song, quoted me some of the lyrics and told me that I should listen to it. So, since I have a computer with a greater capacity for work, I finally (yes, I know, don't bitch) DLed Napster and then went through the search for Perfect Water. *shakes her head*

God, what a difficult song to find. For four hours straight, Napster told me, unequivically that there was no such song in existance. I looked up other MP3 sites, looking for this beastie, but a lot of them required that you purchase the disc, then you could listen to an MP3 of the song. *rolls her eyes* Cmon, I'm not gonna spend 35 bucks PLUS shipping and handling just to listen to one song. Love ya, Charles... Don't love the song that much.

But, throughout all the trials and finally about 7 hours of search time for this ONE song, Charles logged on yesterday morning and told me, hey, he found it on Napster, about 15 or so versions. So, I quickly jumped out of all the applications I had going, and scampered over to my Napster deal, figuring that AGAIN Napster was going to lie to me, telling me that there was no such song in existance and just because I wanted to hear it so badly, they were going to keep it from me until I cleaned my room..... or something

Anyway, I DLed the song becuase it actually showed up. *grins brightly* And I've been listening to it alot. Hot damn... I can't, for the life of me, describe what is so great about this song. It just..... speaks to me.

It's possible that I like the song so much just because Charles suggested it, and I worked (and I use the term loosely) so hard to get it... but I don't think that's it. It's just so pulling. It pulls me in... "And I feel the perfect water... washing over me." Damn, Charles... Thank you so very, very much.

And then, there's my second favorite of his suggestions... In Thee. Damn, I love that song too. It doesn't suck me in the same way Perfect Water does, but I still like it a whole lot. And then, there's Shooting Shark. And Harvest Moon. And I still have to DL the other two he suggested, but I'm moving in that direction.

Folks... Any of you who aren't BOC fans, you really need to spend a few moments, just listening to a couple of these songs. Yeah, "Don't Fear The Reaper" and "Godzilla" and Burnin For You" are the most popular (by far) BUT, they aren't anywhere near as compelling and drawing as Perfect Water.

A lot of people classify BOC as "Metal" Sorry folks, you've obviously never listened to Metallica, Megadeath, Tool or Black Sabbath if you think BOC is metal. *chuckles* Now, with Harvest Moon, you get a little hint of the metal feel... but you get Metal like you did with G'N'R and that just isn't the same. I would say BOC is guitar heavy in some songs. But they don't really qualify as Metal, as you can still hear the words, the guitars don't drown out everything else, and you don't have much screaming or growling.

Now, I'm spouting this "officious" opinion having listened to about 1 percent of BOC's music. *chuckles* So, take that into consideration as I'm preaching my opinions and attitude to everyone else. *smiles sweetly*

But, hot damn, you really MUST listen to Perfect Water if nothing else. It's a mellower song than some and just calls to me. Makes me want to blast the tunes a bit, light a bunch of candles and sit back with my eyes closed, listening to the tones and harmonies as they crash against each other in a delicious melting of sounds and feelings.

Or something.

I am now a BOC fan. And I like it. *chuckles* So, thank you Charles. This is all your fault you know... and I'll pay you back for this someday.... Of course, that means I'll probably be slaving away to make you a whole hell of a lot of Laka Snaks (TM) but, it's worth it, babe. So very worth it. Perfect Water.... the dark wind braids the waves... *chuckles* I really love that line.

This is truly perfect water, Charles. Thank you.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own