The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Rod Run

2000-09-11 - 02:08:03


Well, h'lo there folks. yeah, yeah, yeah, I know it's been forever and a day since I've updated, deal with it. I've been doing other things. Ya know... Like breathing.

I've decided that I need to start keeping a legit record of what I'm consuming and how much excersize and shit I'm getting. I'm not sure if I'm really willing to keep up with it in this public diary, as to do so would be an admission to my own fault in my weight problem. *chuckles*

I'm a firm believer in deniability. *looks at herself* Well, okay, maybe not firm... but still...

So... this weekend was my version of heaven. so to speak. *chuckles* It was Rod Run weekend. *drools* So many classic cars.

In case you folks don't remember, I live in a tourist town. This peninsula is home to the world's longest, uninterupted beach. This 26 mile peninsula is home to 14,000 year-round residents in 10 towns. During the "season" the population rises to more than 50,000.

Off-season means the sidewalks are rolled up by 8pm. Tourist season means the sidewalks stay out til 10pm.... 12pm on weekends. *chuckles quietly*

I really like this town. I like the fact that it's small. I like the fact that even I, the host to that piranah-with-white-hot-teeth-buffet, can walk from my home to any number of shops, bars, banks and the movie theater without too much serious pain.

Regardless... this weekend, I would estimate that there were aproximately 70,000 people on the peninsula. There were aproximately 3,500 classic cars. And, I don't mean JUST 50's and 60's cars... everything you could imagine. Tricked out, lowered, hydro'd, nitro'd, chopped, shaved, finned, skirted...

Damn, Novas, Buicks, Chryslers, Malibus, Vettes, Harleys, Grand Prixs, Rivearas, VettesTriumphs (yes, TriumphS plural), Fieros, Vettes Cameros, Firebirds, GTOs,Vettes, Mustangs, Pulsars, Commets, Cougars, T-birds, Vettes, Baracudas, Vette Roadsters, Sportsters, Split windows.... *sighs* And Vettes.

Okay, so you can tell I like the Vettes. But, there were also trucks. OLD Fords, Chevys and Dodges... newer Fords, Chevys and Dodges, along with Toyotas, Nissans...... *sighs* Damn.... everything your heart could desire could have been seen here this weekend.

AND THEN we come to the people.

In my opinion, the people are almost better than the cars. There is such a diverse crowd. I mean, your state fair has wonderful, colorful crowds, but this? Better by far.

The people.... tall, short, thin, fat, beards, no beards, long hair, short hair, blue hair, no hair... it's like watching a Dr. Seuss book float past. Stereotypical bikers, non bikers, young men with children, old men with dogs, and so damned many cars.

And then we come to the music. So many different choices. Country, rap, reggae, rock, grunge, angst-rock, pop, dance, classical and.... colliape.... Seriously. But that comes from the marry-go-round. And then... the metal heads. *grins*

Everyone is represented during the Rod Run.

This is when High Society kisses the dregs. Just sit and watch, you'll see your life flash before your eyes as the living canvass moves past you. You'll see the young bloods, James Deans, outsiders and insiders.... lone wolves and wolf packs... geese and swans. You'll see them all. The low rent carnival with no addmission fee.

*smiles softly* And the cars. Damn, the cars.

I really, really suggest that you visit this town sometime. Plan a trip for a summer and stay. You'll see every kind of society. Everything. It's wild and wonderful and perfect and flawed and peaceful and chaotic... all at the same time.

You should come out here for a visit sometime. And trust me, the sunset over the Pacific is stunning.



Peace unto thy hearts.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own