The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

And yet another verbose entry

2000-10-18 - 15:46:45


So, we come upon another day and I am awake yet again. What do I really wish to say today? *chuckles* I was thinking about launching a Bible-thumping tirade, but that's simply not my style. I'll leave that to the newsletter. *chuckles*

Anyway... While I was in Seaside, Oregon yesterday, getting Charles' Lunch Box. *chuckles* I found a ring I've been looking for. See, here in Long Beach there's a place called Marsh's Free Museum. *chuckles* It's cool and wild and things are twisting and turning at every point... well, close. Regardless, they've got some really cool rings. Some are shells inlaid in a simple band. Some are just polished stone.... there are many different styles. But the ones I like most are the metallic black/gray rings. They're simple bands, nothing extrodinary, just... I really like them.

Well, at Marsh's the largest size they have just barely fits my pinky. And in four years of exploring the ring bins (they're cheap, $1.50 rings) I've only found about four rings that actually fit my pinky, the rest just barely slide onto my fingers.

Yes, I have very large hands. At one time I could palm a basketball. But I haven't tried to do that lately, and that's beside the point anyway.

So, I was in this shop in Seaside, Oregon and I found the rings I liked so much. And ya know what? They're 50 cents cheaper AND they're a lot bigger. I just got one, cause that's all I really wanted. But it fits on my ring finger. And I like that.

So, now I've got a metallic/irridescent black/gray band about my left ring finger, my diamond about my right. I'm actually contemplating finding the rest of my rings and putting them all on. *grins* I have various different sizes, but only one ring, so far, that would fit upon my middle finger. *chuckles* It's a turquoise band with silver accents.

And by find, I mean, dig out my jewelry boxes. I have three of those. Most of the contents are either necklaces, or single earings. *chuckles* ...............

Woah, how incredibly boring. I've sunk to a new low. Describing my bizarre tastes in jewelry, eh?

===*thinks for a moment, seeing if she can come up with some "mature" thing to say in regard to rings*===

You know, when I was married to that person that time (hot damn, I'm turning into my Mother..... God save whomever I marry... I never wanted this to happen) He wouldn't wear his wedding band. That really bothered me. He said he didn't like rings.... *shrugs* it's fine by me if he doesn't like rings, but cmon, this is the WEDDING BAND. Not just some stupid 2-bit ring you got from a fricken bubble-gum machine.

*clears her throat, blinking rappidly for a moment* Erm... sorry bout that. *bats her eyelashes*

But it did bother me a lot that that person wouldn't wear his wedding band. And it bothers me that a lot of men don't wear their wedding bands. I mean, cmon... If you're not proud of being married, then don't be. If you're not going to show off that you're married, that you've found a person you will commit the rest of your life to, that you're going to do everything you possibly can to be everything you can be and join with this other life in order to raise children and..... well, lots of stuff that would sound far too preachy at this moment.

Suffice it to say, In my opinion a man or woman who does not wear a ring, with the single exception of having lost a finger or hand, is not truly proud of being married. They aren't proud of their spouse, and they're not married for the right reasons.

Agree or disagree as is your wont. I know that there are people who don't like wearing jewelry... tough. It's your wedding band......... *pauses again* Hmmmm, perhaps we need a remedial course for those of you out there saying, "WTF, man... Whatcha so F'n pissy bout, Tig?" *chuckles* Well... at least you understand my nickname. *smirks*

The point is this... To me, marriage is sacred. it is a bond, commitment, vow above and beyond ALL others between human kind. Pre-nuptual agreements? Don't get me started on that bullshit. The only pre-nuptual agreement there should be is that one that says... "I, the undersigned, do promise to kick your ass if you even THINK about leaving me." Or something.

But, the point here is that marriage is sacred. It's one of those things that you just, can not, under any circumstances give up on. A lot of people are of the opinion in this era that marriage is like buying a car... yeah, it's a commitment, but if you don't like it, you can take it back. Or, they'll do a lease/option, dropping the option to buy after they've broken in the seats.

*smiles softly*

Whatever your opinion on marriage, it is of vital importance, out of comon courtesy, to find someone of like opinion. Please, if only for me, don't be a pain in the ass.... don't marry someone who believes that marriage is truly ONE person for the rest of your life if you don't believe the same way.

I believe that marriage is sacred. Holy. Pure. Complete. I also believe that the two humans that make up a marriage union, are only part of the equation. And that if God is not invited into the wedding ceremony AND the marriage on a daily basis, then you're fighting a battle you don't have to.

When I get married again, I don't want my husband-to-be to repeat the vows just cause. I want him to actually understand what he's vowing. And, I want him to make that vow to God. Not me. As, I will make my promise to God, not him.

Promises to people can be broken far easier and with less dramatic repurcussions. *smiles softly, just ditching that whole line*

Okay, so, once again I am moving back to the main point. It is of vital importance to me that my husband wear his wedding band. If he doesn't like it, I fully expect him to tell me so. If the ring is too tight, tell me, I"ll have it sized or get a new one. If you can't stand wearing rings...... well....... my preference would be that you force yourself to wear the ring, but if not, then wear it on a chain about your neck.

Of course, this is all irrelivant as there's no husband at my side. *chuckles* And, I'm not buying a ring, nor am I buying some vynal/blow-up-doll boyfriend thing. *rolls her eyes* None of those BOB's either (Battery Operated Boyfriends for the uninitiated among you)

Eventually someone will make his way up here, be completely smitten with me, unable to resist my many charms.... and he'll be unable to deny the incredible attraction...... or something. *chuckles* Okay, so maybe I'll just slink back into a chair with a sack of money on my lap... that aught to draw a man toward me, neh?

*chuckles quietly* And no, Sympatico, I'm not moving into the Bubble anymore... Hell, Uncle Bob gave me $250,000 hypothetical dollars the other day, I have more money now, I'm goin for the big time. *grins* I want property. And lots of it. So that when I do have kids, I can send them outside to explore the area and know they'll be safe and out of my hair at the same time. *grins*

Anyway... Til next time, friends....






Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own