The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Music Makes the Man?

2000-11-29 - 02:20:04


===Sliding into my brain... Track 8: Paul Oakenfold===

===Sliding into my brain... DreamCatcher: Paul Oakenfold===

Mmmmm, so the kids were here today. Thus my late start on the diary writing tonight. Perhaps I'll just write til I'm tired and post late. Who knows.

Anyway, Damien is coming down with a cold. He was starting the symptoms last week on Turkey Day. So, of course, everyone there has been exposed to the cold germs. Myself as well. Part of the reason that Mom was feeling ill last night. And part of the reason I was ill today.

I told Jodie, my 20 year old niece, that Yvonne had to find someone else to take care of the children Thursday. I'm not doing it. Mom's not feeling well and neither am I. Atop that, Damien is sick. And how do I know? Because when I told him he was coming down with a cold, he burst into a fit of pouting and fussing to rival ...... well, I can't think of a good analogy so, deal with it.

Atop that, he was sneezing and coughing. Yay. So now I'm coming down with this damned cold too. My muscles already ache. I don't need this bullshit too.

So, it was an okay day today, but I told Mom when she got home from work that she should go into her room and stay there until Jodie came to pick up the kidlets as Damien was sick and she didn't need to be getting this. She's got a busy week ahead of her. She did so and Damien promptly started to pout once again.

When Jodie showed up, I told her that Damien was coming down with a cold (Jodie would see Yvonne before I would talk to her), that he was sneezing and coughing and it wouldn't surprise me at all if he was nausious later tonight. I told her that it would probably be a wise move to take them to their own house rather then to her place, as if he got sick, she wouldn't have to disinfect her home.

Damien started screaming and pitching a major fit. I told him to be quiet, he screamed louder, I launched from my chair, placed my hand over his mouth and told him he was not to scream, he was to be quiet as Grandma was sleeping. I asked him if he understood and he nodded. I took my hand away, wiped the snot off it and told him that he was very obviously coming down with a cold.

He said he wasn't. *rolls her eyes*

===Sliding into my brain... Toca Me: Paul Oakenfold===

I'm so very tired of watching the kids. And Yvonne has no idea how irritating it is. Hell........... *growls* Alright...

Here's the reason I'm ticked off... And for those of you who don't like venting.............. *shakes her head* Nevermind. I'll post it to the private diary. There's no reason for you to listen to me just complain. Nothing will be solved by my bitching about something so petty as my sour mood.

Regardless... Jodie took the kids home, I put another log on the fire and then opened Mom's door to indicate that the kids were gone. Told her that I was going upstairs now and she said I didn't have to.

*chuckles* Sorry, Mom. I'm feeling the symptoms too, I don't want you sick. I'm just going to curl up with my blanket, my dog, and my computer. *chuckles quietly*

So, I turn on the comp, turn on the tunes, and here I am, writing about my boring-ass, stupid day. I'm sure something more interesting is going to come from this entry as soon as the next songs start. *chuckles quietly* And here we are, amazing, non?




===Sliding into my brain... WildFire: Michael Martin Murphy===

I haven't heard this song in so damned long. I remember being about.... maybe, ten or so. I was riding in the car and I heard this song, the original. I was arrested by it. And I've loved it ever since. It didn't get a whole lot of airplay. And I never knew who the performer was. This current version is a little different, but it's the same song. So lost and forelorn and sweet and gentle and tender and wild.

This is a dreamer's song. No questions, no doubts. This is truly a dreamer's song. Aching and hungry. Haunting. I can see blankets of snow. I can see fear and longing and hope all wrapped up together in a gentle, tender, careworn package. Truly bittersweet.

I've missed this song.

===Sliding into my brain... If I Had Only One Friend Left: Dan Seals===

I remember hearing this song as I was driving away from Ted's place. I remember thinking about so much hope and want, desire and foolish, foolish dreams of the child I was. I dedicated it to him a long, long time ago, foolishly thinking he knew me. Or rather, the foolish part came in when I thought he cared.

If I had only one friend left, I'd want it to be you

Gah, what a foolish, foolish girl. I was 19. So young and so stupid. I believed that if I wanted it enough... if I was kind and gentle enough, if I was devoted, that would be enough. *smiles softly, faintly*



I've been involved with people through music for a long, long time. The music a person likes, suggests to me, tells me a lot about that person and tells me a lot about how I will most likely interact with them.

===Sliding into my brain... River Of Tears: Eric Clapton===

For instance, the night we met, my ex sang and dedicated All My Exes Live In Texas to me. I thought that was an extremely tacky choice. I laughed then, that night. But, he was so drunk it never registered. He's not in Texas now, but I am his ex. There's just something so.... "wrong" about dedicating a song about failed relationships to someone you want to be in a relationship with. *chuckles* Yes, he sang that song to me AFTER he told me he'd "be a fool not to marry" me. *chuckles*

The foolishness of youth, eh?

Regardless... I almost always associate the songs a person likes with who and what they are. It seems to me, that the kind of music a person enjoys is far more accurate a personality assessment than any BPI test could ever tell. (BPI is a psychological test often administered by counselors to new clients.)

The songs that friends have suggested to me become a gateway, of sorts, into their personalities. It's like a specific key (no pun intended) to their brain-waves or something. I wonder what song I would suggest as a way of introduction to myself. Hmmmmm, that's something that requires thought.

If you had to introduce yourself to someone with a song.... sort of having a theme song for your personality/persona... what song would it be? And what song would I associate each of my friends with?

===Sliding into my brain... Like The Rain: Clint Black===

I don't know if my own theme song has been written yet. Perhaps I should write it. *smiles softly, thoughtfully*

Hmmmm, what would I associate with Sympatico? I see him to be a Wierd Al Yankovic Polka. *chuckles* I do. He is made up of so many complex parts which are a little twisted. You can recognize all the words and songs in a WAY polka compilation/medly, but they're in polka format. So, Enter Sandman is still Enter Sandman, but you can't help but laugh when you hear it done so differently.

That's what he is to me. Things I recognize and enjoy so much, yet in a slightly different format. Yeah.

===Sliding into my brain... I Wish It Would Rain Down: Genesis===

Charles? He is truly, to me, the music he enjoys so much. He considers himself a "metal head". I agree. But, many of his favorites from the metal bands, and classic rock bands, are the more mellow and poignant selections. And that's what he is to me. He's got this aggressive, all-or-nothing persona, with an undercurrent of "more". It's cool. and I know that I"m totally butchering my own analogies, but I can't quite seem to make the idea come out the way I want it to.

That's part of the problem with my having such a visual sense of association. I can see "video" and hear the music, but it's difficult to translate that to written communication. Hmmmm. I'll see if I can fine tune that some.

Uncle Bob? *laughs quietly* I see him as a blend of gospel, Spike Jones and elevator muzak. The muzak is thrown in just to create a "WTF" moment. *smirks* it's like he watches so intently and throws the curve just when you've gotten used to the speed ball. I enjoy that.

===Sliding into my brain... Kiss The Rain: Billie Meyers===

What about Jessica? I kind of see her as being a combination of hard-core goth and a little country with a dash of broadway musical thrown in for spice. *chuckles* I so see her dressed in black leather, heavy make-up, holding a leash which is attached to some subserviant male, crawling at her heels, begging her for even half the chance to bring her pleasure.

But then, I also see her totally at home and at ease in western boots, flannel button down and well-worn jeans, leaning against the back of a horse, straw hanging from the side of her mouth, her eyes bright and laughing as she marvels at an Eagle in flight.

And then, I see her listening to Oklahoma or some such, in a hot tub, holding a glass of champagne in one hand and a National Enquirer in the other. *laughs at herself* I so love that picture. That's my favorite picture of her.

===Sliding into my brain... You Still Move Me: Dan Seals===

Preston? *shakes her head* I see many different styles of music swimming around him in a cacophony. It's like someone put a CD in the player and hit "intro" so that all that was heard was a bunch of introductions. I think there's more there.... but he flips from song to song to song so quickly that I"ve never heard the end of one. Not a one.

I have, however, heard a few songs most of the way through. Specifically when he's playing guitar. (Hot damn, that man can burn the frets). Preston will complete the songs himself, I think. The reason none of them are complete in my ears/association, is that he hasn't finished them. It's like Preston is a work in progress. As soon as I begin to understand him, a new key change comes up, or he'll jump to a completely new time signature.

Sometimes it's confusing, like free jazz. But most often, if I can stop trying to figure him out, and just listen, the sounds that he pushes out are so incredible that I don't care if I never hear the end. There's always something bigger or stronger or softer or .... well, you get the idea.

===Sliding into my brain... She Runs Away: Duncan Sheik===

Jess? *laughs* He's pure "shit kickin" country. *laughs* Dirty, dusty boots, red-neck twang, bar brawl bruise and beat up truck cruise. *laughs softly* Yeah, that's Jess. He's got George Strait blaring from the speakers as he's bouncin through the field in his old Ford pick up. But, when he's ridin into town, it's Garth Brooks. None of that sissy-fied country like Vince Gill... too high a voice. Garth Brooks, power country. Kentucky Head Hunters too. *laughs* Yeah, Jess likes his women a little on the trashy side.

He'd listen to some Lorrie Morgan too, but he'd never tell anyone. *chuckles* And, secretly, he enjoys a Vince Gill song or two.




===Sliding into my brain... Little Hands: Duncan Sheik===

This song... It hits me hard every time I hear it. I feel a combination of guilt and sorrow. Not outright depression... but I almost always think of my main RP character when I hear this song. The female spoken of is indifferent. The man wants her, the man loves her even. And she.... well, she says to him...

how long, til you understand
the last thing that I need, is another man
didn't you promise, to give it a rest
right now I need a lover, like a hole, like a hole in the chest

Oh well, can't blame a guy for trying
and I'm smiling even tho I'm dying
to know the love she says will never be

one last conversation at the crowded bar
and even tho the music is louder by far
I hear every word she says

she says, don't take it bad don't worry bout it
you're a friend of mine and there's no way around it
sometimes you get there early, sometimes you get there late
even if you had a chance, you never, never knew the game

She just seems to be so.... cold, to me. She seems to be damaged and broken inside, much like Tiger is. And so I associate with that. In terms of romance for the character, I think about this song a lot. I really feel the music when any other character makes a play for Tig. I mean, a real play. Not just some base flirtation.

Tig just doesn't love anyone in a romantic way. She feels a bond with certain people... but she doesn't love. Not truly. She decided long ago that everyone in her life was expendible. And, there's a hitch. A piece of knowledge that she has which no one else has. I won't say what that piece of information is, as when I finally write the books about her, the final book/chapter/whatever, will be her revelation of this knowledge. It's the "twist" at the end.

*shrugs*

Dunno. I often get pensive when I listen to this song. Perhaps I should go on to something else? Ya think? *smirks*

===Sliding into my brain... Wishful Thinking: Duncan Sheik===

Anyway. I'm going to close this here as Joey is bugging me to let him out, and I think I've fulfilled my quota for a long entry. I think this is just barely long enough. I promise, I'll start writing more entertaining entries in the near future. Perhaps I'll come up with something more bizarre and confuzzled tomorrow as this cold takes a more firm grip. *chuckles*

Right now, however, Joey is attempting to type, so I'm going to close this out, let him out, use the facilities myself, and then come back and post it.

Peace unto thy hearts, mine dahlinks.





Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own