The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Internet Karaoke

Saturday, Dec. 01, 2001 - 6:22 pm


Woke up from a nap with a cool idea and I need to get feedback on this. I don't know what it would take to actually do something like this; or even how viable it would be. However, this is my thought...

Internet Karaoke.

To have an Internet-based Karaoke service... What would that require for the headquarters? What kind of server would I need... what type of network set up. How would it be regulated. etc.

The idea is to provide people with the words on their computer screens. The sound from their computer speakers. Their voice through their own mics. I would be supplying the Karaoke music and words. Everyone would have to be connected at the same time and there would be video as well if people had cams.

I would need to be able to show a video to one specific user (the singer) which has the words, and then be able to show the singer's face/pleasant video (forrest scene/cool animations/whatever) to the other subscribers. I would have to be able to oversee the singer and those waiting in rotation.

Also, I would like to be able to have a specific... um terminal? server? componant? in various bars/taverns/restaurants where the restaurant/bar houses a comp, speakers, mic but the Karaoke host is online.

(If you have tech knowledge, but know nothing about Karaoke, ask me, I'll explain what the karaoke experience is and how it usually works)

I'm not worried about reaching my "market" as yet. Right now I want to know what it would take for me to get something like that off the ground. What would I be required to have, attain, create, do, know in order to make this idea work.

What hardware and software would I need? What hardware/software would my subscribers need? What additional technical/computer knowledge would I need? How would I set up the main WebSite and how would we do a login? Is the idea too high-cost/low-feasibility to even contemplate at this time?

I'm seriously requesting advice and ideas. BUT please, do not just say something like, "The idea sucks, get a real job". I'm looking for good, constructive help here. If you think the idea won't work, tell me that, but tell me why! If you think it's a good idea, great, but tell me why.

I have no idea if this is feasible or not. I just had the idea and it sounds like a good one to me. I don't know what it will take, and I can't begin to do research on it as I don't know what a proposition like this would mean. I don't know anything about servers or "hubs" or any of that real tech stuff.

I'm looking for suggestions both from Lee and Charles most urgently because I know that both of you have a better option of being able to sift through my words and you're both more geek-fluent than I could ever hope to be.

I want opinions and thoughts and ideas from everyone willing to share. GuestBook Please let me hear your thoughts and reasons for them. Even if your thoughts are negative, if you give me a reason, that's the part I need most.

Thanks for your time and effort, I'll be scrounging the web to see what little I can turn over as it is.

Peace unto thy hearts.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own