The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

A very good day

Saturday, Dec. 08, 2001 - 8:23 pm


Very long day today.

Started this morning at about 7am or so. Showered, dressed, spent about 35 minutes putting on make up. Yes, you heard that correctly, I spent an extended amount of time putting on make up.

And I liked it.

Scary huh?

I got a lot of smiles today too, and from males. Woohoo. Hooray for me.

I put on foundation, eye liner (go figure) three different shades of eye shadow... As tacky as it sounds, a dusty purple/brown color in a thin strip along the lashes of my upper lid... it really, really accented my eyes and I liked that. A lot.

Anyway, mascera, lip liner, lip stick... that whole schmere.



So, Mom and I went to breakfast this morning, picking up Brandace, my niece, along the way. The three of us spent the day shopping for Brandace's birthday presents.

Now, this is the tableau... Grandma, Aunt and child going through Fred Meyer in search of all the things Brandace could desire (up to $200). The mother of the child stated that Brandace should only get clothes for school as the child doesn't need anything else.

Also, since the child went with her father the day before and got two (yes, one, two) CD's, she shouldn't get any more. *rolls her eyes*

Now, if someone were going to take me shopping for my birthday, I would want to be able to choose the things I wanted, not have to spend my birthday money on new school clothes. *rolls her eyes again*

So, while it was just grandma, Brandace and myself, we came to the conclusion that no one can have too many CD's, toys, presents and fun.

Brandace got two pair of jeans, two sweaters and the rest in toys'n'stuff.

And, when we got back to their house, and I took the bags of Brandace's loot in, I told her, "The only thing you have to share with your brother is the legos, cause those are his. Everything else is yours and you get to keep it all for yourself."

She grinned.

She had a great day. And, though we were both very tired, Mom and I had a great day too.

On the way home, Mom looked at Brandace in the rear-view mirror, then leaned toward me a little, murmuring, "Are you thinking about getting married and having children? I mean... are you..."

I smiled, nodded and said, "Yes, Mom. I have every intention of getting married again and having children."

She smiled, sighed happily and whispered, "Thank you."

She really likes being a Grandma and can't wait til her daughter has children.

Contrary to common belief, folks, parents will always be just a little more partial to the children of their blood than those who aren't. Maybe not enough to notice... but it's there.

*smiles warmly*

As selfish as it may seem... I like that. It makes me feel special.

This was a very good day.

A very good day indeed.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own