The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

i am sam

Monday, Feb. 18, 2002 - 6:42 pm


Just got back from the movie. Mom and I saw i am sam. Personally, I thought it was pretty good. I was highly impressed with Sean Penn's acting performance.

I have much respect for him as an actor. If you're looking for a tear jerker, that's the one I recommend.

For those of you who aren't going to see it, it's a story about a mentally retarded father and the custody battle which ensues over the wellfare of his 7 year old daughter.

You might not like it, you might think it's worthless to see a movie about something like that. But, if you know anyone who has any contact with the state welfare agencies, you'll probably be sucked in. If you have any experience with adoption/foster systems or dealing with handicapped individuals, you may well get into it.

The movie is a bit on the long side, but kept me hooked throughout, unlike A Beautiful Mind which I saw on Saturday.

A Beautiful Mind is the life story of genius mathmetician John Nash. He was honored with the Nobel Peace Prize in 94 if I'm not mistaken. May have been 96, but I think it was 94.

A Beautiful Mind wasn't a bad movie, but it moved more slowly. I think that Russell Crowe did a good job playing the part.

There was a lot of BS about how a love scene was cut from the movie because Crowe had a cellulite problem. *rolls her eyes* Personally, I think that a sex scene would only have detracted from the movie. The story line was good and it showed how he came up with his remarkable theory.

Those of you who have experience with psychology and an interest in psycho-therapy/psychological disorders will most likely be more interested in this movie. It is a history of the man's life, so expect that.

Ed Harris plays an awesome part, as does the "bard" from A Knight's Tale

I recommend both movies, but I suggest that if you don't have a comfortable theater, save A Beautiful Mind for video or cable.

Anyway, that's it for right now. Woah, a lot of entries over the past 24 hours huh? *chuckles*

Peace unto thy hearts.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own