The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Bible Study 8/12/03

Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2003 - 5:47 am


8 12 03

5:12a

Habakkuk 3

Wow. This seems to be a song that Habakkuk wrote to calm the nervous and praise God at the same time. He speaks of the glory of God; how He will always save His people. There is quite the dramatic story of rescue, valiant bigger-than-life-ness and� I don�t know, I sort of expect to see this as a kind of Lucasfilm thing. Vs 4 �His splendor was like the sunrise; rays flashed from His hand where His power was hidden.� It just seems so, Movie-like. Rambo riding off into the sunset with Tanto at his side and the damsel sitting across his lap. The Scorpion King�

It just seems so� Hollywood.

I don�t mean to belittle Habakkuk or this portion of the Bible at all, that�s not my intention. I just think this is such a dramatic poetry that I am struck by similarities.

It�s like this� my interest isn�t aroused in a bored way; as if I�d seen this before and it isn�t that big a deal. My interest is in the fact that there truly is nothing new under the sun. In so many ways I�d like to think that my generation and the ones immediately preceding it have thought up some really cool stuff. But the truth of the matter is that way back in the day, in the Old Testament, Habakkuk was sitting there with high drama in his own mind. If he�d had celluloid, he�d be producing movies about the grandeur of God and His rescue of His people.

This was nice to see this morning.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own