The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Dreams and Demons and Armor

Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008 - 8:51 am


So, I had a dream last night that was less than pleasant. I don't remember a whole lot of it. Mostly, I remember the negative part - the part where demons were staring at me through the window. There were three of them. They looked Hollywood-nasty - that whole this-is-the-bad-guy kind of look - but though the malevolence in the appearance was notably "Hollywood", there was still an external push of fear.

I've had this experience before... a few times. Usually, it means that I haven't been praying (or more accurately, that Mom hadn't been praying) for my protection.

It'd been two days since I'd done any Bible study.

I'm not saying that without prayer and Bible study I'm destined to have negative dreams which throw me into wakefulness in a fearful sweat. Nor am I saying that demons came to my window to hound me. But, I do know, from personal experience, that when I don't armor and arm myself, spiritually speaking, I am more vulnerable to the evil one and his minions.

It is my belief that the evil one, inc., is always searching, always plotting, always craving the downfall of God's precious ones. Since I also believe that all human kind are precious to God, that means everybody is in the war zone. Add to that my belief that when I pray for the rebuke of the evil one, inc., from my friends, family, activities and plans, etc., that brings me to the attention of the spiritual bad guys.

Therefore, when I don't pray or do Bible study for a few days, am flirting with a cold, am reading fantasy books which feature the bad guys being victorious (so far), don't eat well (properly) and don't get quite enough sleep, I am extremely vulnerable. I don't like being vulnerable. I really don't like being extremely vulnerable. I especially don't like being extremely vulnerable when I'm the dork who forgot to put on armor and arms yet still went out into the battle.

Last night's dream was a real "well duh" moment.

So, this morning, I'm praying. And, I'm doing Bible study. Go figure. I'm also eating a grapefruit (pealed like an orange), drinking a lot more water than I did yesterday, taking a whole lot of vitamin C and getting better-quality sleep. Well, okay, so I'm not sleeping right now, but I WILL get in a nap today. There, that's two thousand mg of vitamin C, four thousand mg of fish oil and one thousand mg each calcium and magnesium, ten mg iron, thirty mg zinc, two hundred and twenty-five mcg iodine, two mg copper, four hundred i.u. (whatever that is) vitamin D3, ten mg manganese, ninty-nine mg potassium, two hundred mcg chromium, one hundred mcg selenium, two mg tri-boron, two hundred mg glutamic acid, fifty mcg each lithium, vanadium and molybdenum (no clue what that is) and, finally, ten mg silicon.

Yeah, okay, so that was a long list. Four capsules of fish oil, four capsules of vitamin C and four capsules of "Cal-Mag-Zinc-Plus". Only twelve capsules. But the supliments do wonderful things for my body. And, nearly a liter of water to wash those things down. I'm not one of those take-a-pill-then-take-a-sip-of-water types. I'm the toss-twelve-capsules-into-my-mouth-and-drink-down-three-quarters-of-a-bottle-of-water type.

--- Bizarre random thought - my ex used to drink whatever he was consuming as if it were the last time he'd ever get it. Soda, beer, hard alcohol, iced tea; didn't matter what the beverage was, he just had to consume it as quickly as possible. I do that with water. Frequently. Not always, of course, but frequently. That's one of the reasons why those little, personal, twenty-or-so-ounce bottles of water are such a frustration to me. One of those is usually gone in two drinks. ---

Anyway... enough of my blathering. I have Bible study to do.

Enjoy your days and nights and stuff.

PS

For information sake, Mr. Fixer is still in his cave. I do not begrudge him this. I'm glad he was willing to tell me. Wherever life leads him, it is good to know that he is still alive and reasonably functional; and, I hope I get to play some role in his life. He is a very good man. It would be unfortunate if I were required to be without some contact with him. Positive prayers for him (and for me, too) would not be refused.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own