The Tangential Chaos of A Child Of God

Pennies from heaven????

2000-10-28 - 01:38:55


===Beginning tonight's Playlist... Far Behind: CandleBox -- Suggested by Charles===

I was in Diaryland Chat this morning and a discussion was started between a few of us. specifically Kat and Mosh and myself. We were discussing what pennies were made of and I was of the opinion they were no longer made of copper. Kat was of the opinion they were still made of copper.

Well, we're both right, how's that for a kicker, eh? *chuckles*

This is the information I found, the URL and all that... US Mint FAQ Page

What are current circulating coins made from?

Quarters and dimes are composed of cupro-nickel clad, with a pure copper core, and an outer layer of a 75 percent copper, 25 percent nickel alloy.

Nickels are made from the same 75-25 alloy, and the cent, once a copper coin, is now composed of copper plated zinc. These cents are less expensive for the Mint to manufacture, and at 2.5 grams each, weigh about 20% less than the cent previously minted of 95 percent copper and 5 percent zinc, which weighed 3.11 grams.

Are there any plans to remove the one-cent coin (more popularly known as "the "penny) from circulation?

We occasionally hear from people who believe that the Mint should stop producing one-cent coins and remove them from circulation. You may be interested to know that the penny is the most widely used denomination currently in circulation. There was a study conducted in 1976 of this and other suggestions regarding our coinage system. However, the idea of eliminating the penny received strong objections from an overwhelming majority of State revenue collection departments, retail firms, and commercial banks. Other objections voiced in later studies concerned the inflationary impact of such a proposal on prices and possible difficulties on collecting sales taxes.

It has not been confirmed that the penny has outlived its usefulness. Neither business nor the public as a whole has pressured for changes in the coin denominations in circulation today. In addition, our coin and currency system is among the most trusted in the world. The vast majority of users apparently are content with the existing coin denominations, including the one-cent coin. As a result, the Treasury Department has no plans now to cease production of the penny. In addition, such a change to the United States monetary system could not be done without prior Congressional authorization. If directed to do so by legislation enacted by the Congress and signed by the President, the Treasury Department would again study phasing out the penny. Since the demand exists and the Federal Reserve Banks require inventories to meet the demand, the United States Mint is committed to producing the penny.




I'm currently talking with Mosh. He's such a charmer. So filled with compliments and sweet talk. I might have to re-evaluate my position on younger men. *smirks*

Love ya, babe. And ya know I mean it. *waggles her brows*

I met Mosh this morning in Dland chat. It was cool... I've met a whole bunch of new people through chat. I'll be posting their links at the end of this entry.

===Slipping from the headphones... It's My Life: ===

Hot damn, I love rockin, baybay. Of course, I can't really call Bon Jovi rockin... When I hear someone talking about Rockin, I think of CCR, Lynyrd Skynyrd, AC/DC... the old stuff. Real ROCK. *chuckles* of course, saying that dates me. *smirks*

Hell, my use of the word "dates" dates me. *chuckles quietly*

===Slipping from the headphones... Carmina Burana 4 meg: ===

Oh frag this... Mosh and I are talking extensively, and I can't keep trying to write. So, you get a short ass Entry today. Be sure to check out the folks I met in Chat. Just cause I'm a pain in the ass and like bossing people around. *smiles sweetly*

===Slipping from the headphones... Memphisto: ===

===Slipping from the headphones... The Flame: ===

===Slipping from the headphones... You Saw My Blinker, Bitch: ===

===Slipping from the headphones... Bitch: ===

===Slipping from the headphones... Techno Carmina Burana 6 meg: ===

Woah, you guys should get into a conversation with Mosh. He's been keeping me typing. *grins* I love someone who engages my mind in a conversation, rather than those who just sit there and stare at me vacantly. Ya know... like mobile snails or something... they just twidle their antenae and drool.

But not Mosh. He's making me think. *smirks*

I highly reccomend that all of you take a few moments out of your day to just innundate Mosh's Email addy or something.... just fill his communication devices with comments, letters, cards, anything you can think of, just to irritate him. Because I'm such a sweet and loveable kind of gal. *smirks*

Anyway, I'm really logging off now, or something. I made the mistake of writing my entry while being online, and thus got caught up in a great conversation, but didn't write worth shit.

So, Katfish, there's your answer... and I'll plug the chat-ites later. I'm fussy now. No, actually, I'm just lazy.

Love to you all, mine dahlinks.



Before {{==|==}} After






Previous Five Entries

How Come Is It?
- Friday, Sept. 12, 2008

Dating Questions
- Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2008

Tired Puppy
- Sunday, Jun. 22, 2008

Dreams and Demons and Armor
- Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008

Temporary Apologies (sort of)
- Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008







Links to Click:

Host
Cast Page
Links Page
Rings Page
Mail Me
Guest Book
Notes
Archive
Postcard Project
RPoL





Who is the Fatal Tiger look somewhere else spread my words get your own